WBFS Error: Bad Magic on all games after not using wii for a while.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by underthemoon, Apr 21, 2013.

  1. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so a year or two ago my wii worked just fine all games worked but I have had it packed up and not played for a while. So I go to play and all my games give me an error WFBS error: bad magic. I am using cfg usb loader and I Updated it to v70r51 i do believe. Does anyone know what my specific problem is before i go updating and installing all kinds of random things??

    Much thanks to any advice.
     
  2. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    ...do you have backups of those games and/or can you connect the drive to a PC and retrieve them, preferably using Wii Backup Manager? It is strongly recommended that you update to latest cIOS'es and switch to FAT32 - WBFS drives deteriorate over time due to fragmentation issues.
     
  3. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    The drive is FAT32 formatted and all the other apps work fine like wiiMC for watching videos and viewing files on the drive. it is only that when I go to start a game it says WBFS error: Bad Magic. now my games are in .wbfs format in the wbfs folder. I haven't deleted or added any files to the external hard drive or did anything with the wii so i am confused as to why the games will not work. the only thing i did was update cfg usb loader in an attempt to solve the issue. thank you for the advice though. oh and yes i have backups and or could connect the hard drive to my pc and back any files up.
     
  4. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,705
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    In that case, update the cIOS'es to the latest Hermes and d2x - you should be fine.
     
  5. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you. can you explain or show me a guide to the most simple way of updating those it has been a while and i forget how. will i need to place filed on my hard drive and install them from priiloader or something like that. or can i simply update within the menus on the wii like homebrew browser or something?
     
  6. boomario

    Member boomario Nothing to say here.

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2012
    Messages:
    392
    Country:
    Brazil
    Search for modmii, he will give you a complete guide and download all files to update your wii correctly. :)
     
  7. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    use modmii its a pc program that will get you updated easy and without fear of brick and the guides it generates are awesome and easy to follow
     
  8. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thank you guys I will try modmii now. from the looks of it i just plug in my hard drive and it will update everything on its own. genius it definitely wasn't this easy when i first modded the wii.
     
  9. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Uptate - Ok so I updated to IOS236 and installed and Updated all WADs that seems to have fixed everything. Still not sure what this d2x is does it allow you to play newer games etc?
     
  10. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I am still having problems loading some games that used to work just fine....
     
  11. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    yeah you need the recommended d2x cios in 249 and 250 slots to play most games
     
  12. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Well now i have installed all the d2x cios files and still most games not working for example super smash brothers brawl used to work flawless from my hard drive and now fails to load... is there something I'm missing :(
     
  13. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States
    hmm thats wierd find system check and run it then post it here so we can look at your system files to get a better idea
     
    underthemoon likes this.
  14. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Update - So before this I had not changed a thing some games work like new super mario bros and tales of symphonia for example and games that used to work like black ops and super smash bros now say bad magic and after updating my wads ios236 cios d2x homebrew channel and cfg usb loader I still have the problem... Any help will be greatly appreciated... what could have caused this should i try removing and putting the game back on the hard drive?
     
  15. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    no ideas? could it just be these games specifically or what? it's just so frustrating because i know they worked fine before and i hadn't changed a thing until now but updating hasn't seemed to work.. i updated the cios to 236 and updated ios with the d2x installer.
    Can you put GC games on your hard drive now same way as wii games?
     
  16. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    sounds to me like the filesystem on the hdd is corrupted
    that means that everytime you write fomething there's a chance you corrupt some file or directory
    run a filesystem check to confirm and fix (win:rclick drive,propertys,tools,check; *nix:man fsck)
    if this was the problem you need to copy the brocken games again
    (since this does only fix the fs itself, the files are gone for good)
    use wiimms tools or WBM to find the bad games
     
    underthemoon likes this.
  17. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    ok in wii backup manager i did have some red games with red ???? marks this must be what has happened. I will do some trial and error and give everyone an update but seeing as i have tried everything else and the hard drive has just been sitting for a year or two i think this is the only thing it could be. Thanks PsyBlade for the suggestion!!
     
  18. underthemoon
    OP

    Newcomer underthemoon Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    What app do i use to do this?
     
  19. scooby74029

    Member scooby74029 "fake coder"

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,174
    Location:
    oklahoma, USA
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page