Want to know all about AK

Discussion in 'Acekard' started by Yanazake, Sep 20, 2010.

Sep 20, 2010

Want to know all about AK by Yanazake at 3:39 PM (1,787 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    I'm thinking about buying a new DS and a new Flashcart.
    Some time ago, when I got my first DS, I did a big research about flashcarts and end up buying an used CycloDS. Seriously, I love the thing, but since I'm going to buy a new DS, I figure I should choose a different cart, not only for the price, but also for variety.

    Acekard was my second option at the time, but I've just seen some info about update problems in the forum. That's not really one big deal for me, as I'm patient enought. Thing is, I need to know what are the differences between AK2.1 and AK2i, and about its firmware - the AKAIO 1.7 , if I'm not mistaken. My intention is getting one to use in a DSlite.

    Aside from that, I'm expecting a cart with good compatibility and very functional, as much as the Cyclo. I really don't mind if the updates take time, as it's just a second DS so I can play with my sister. If anyone would recommend any other besides AK...
     
  2. Crystal the Glaceon

    Member Crystal the Glaceon GBAtemp Inkling™ Squishies~

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    14,727
    Location:
    Inkopolis
    Country:
    Antarctica
  3. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Difference between the 2.1 and the 2i, is, well, that you can use the 2i on a DSi(XL).
    If you're buying a phat or lite, it doesnt really mather which you buy.

    And, yea AKAIO is just an alternative firmware, that gets updated a lot.
    So yea, go for it, buy an acekard.
     
  4. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    lol, that avatar.. XD

    Anyway, thanks for that, Cat Boy. I've seen some interesting things about AK in there. Funny, AKAIO doesn't support real time save, but theorically, the original acekart firmware supports?

    Anyway, that's not a big problem - My Cyclo will still pack the punch when needed.

    Another thing: are the .sav save files supported the same way by all flashcarts?


    @Wabsta

    Great, for that price, it's a good choice. Only problem is find a place where I can pay with paypal and avoid import taxes... [​IMG]
    Too bad Dealextreme doesn't sell flashcarts anymore...
     
  5. Wabsta

    Member Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    2,485
    Location:
    SCUMM Bar
    Country:
    Netherlands
    maybe you could contact shoptemp and ask if they do that.. paypal is supported there, so that's one thing [​IMG]
    but how high are the import costs for something that cheap anyway?
     
  6. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    60% is something that can get you kind stressed, when the actual price here is almost 2x the price there.

    Well, might ask there. Thinking if I should get the DSi version just in case... or ignore it and only look for a 3ds-specific cart when it's out =p
     
  7. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why don't you read my guide? http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=218103 it covers most things. Saves are the same as the CYcloDS.

    It may take several years for a flashcart to appear for the 3DS, even then it may be a softmod option rather than flashcart.
     
  8. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hmm, it seems the cart has some issues in the shell creation. Not to matter, I did cut a lot my Ez3in1 to fit it on my DS phat XD
    Will probably get it, mostly because of price.
     
  9. ThatDudeWithTheFood

    Member ThatDudeWithTheFood TRIANGLEZ

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    2,198
    Location:
    Illuminati
    Country:
    United States
    If you are buying a Dsi or a DsiXL than you need a card compatible with the Dsi or better yet the new firmware for the DSi if you buy a dslite I would go r4 from shoptemp since Wood came out it makes it a good solution only thing is that save type is different.
     
  10. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Click here for the DS Phat/Lite AK2i
    And here is you want the DSi-compatible version (I recommend this one)

    No, the AK2/i doesn't have RTS in any firmware, and it isn't planned for any.
    I would get the AK2i because you never know when you might wanna use it in a DSi/XL!
     
  11. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    That's what I thought, might as well get the DSi compatible just in case... I think that the DSi is crap from the moment it was released... And then the XL came. Not sure if I'll ever really buy it, but just to make sure I actually CAN if it ever happens. :3

    And no way I'll get an R4, not even if it was upgraded or something, sorry. I could get a MUCH better card [software-wise at least] for what? extra 5 bucks?
     
  12. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Not advertising for it, but y'know, the R4i SDHC has firmware that allows to to download homebrew and ...other stuff right from the cart. And I believe it goes at like 60kbps!
     
  13. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    Would be great... if I actually had wifi at home, or even a connection that fast =p

    I don't use much homebrews, last one I got was the voice recording from Moonshell 2, and before that even moonshell 1.7 was being used in my Flashcart XD
     
  14. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    Well then, one last question: I want to install the official acekard OS to check if my acekard is a real one. I couldn't find much info on it, since everyone uses AKAIO. I wonder if the installing method is even the same.

    Also, what are the differences between both, besides AKAIO being updated with a better frequence than the official OS?
     
  15. Etalon

    Member Etalon Former Akaio Fanboy

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Morocco
    If Akaio won't start, than your card is a fake one.

    I don't think that a lot of people here can assist you with Acekard OS.

    Obviously nobody ever tried it. [​IMG]
     
  16. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Shoptemp only sells the REAL carts.
    And, Yanazake, if that was you who bought the AK2i from me, THANKS!

    And I originally had the official firmware... let's see... NSMB wouldn't work on Download Play, cheats crashed Mario Party DS... I think I like AKAIO better. Much better.
     
  17. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hmm, probably it wasn't me, unless you work on NDS card sale XD

    Anyway, I don't want to USE the firmware, I just want to make sure my cart is official - it seems the OS won't load if it is fake.

    So, I just want to know how to install it; just put it and its folder in the root of my microSD, like the AKAIO?
     
  18. iluvfupaburgers

    Member iluvfupaburgers FUPA Luva

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Messages:
    572
    Location:
    in front of my computer
    Country:
    Ecuador
    there are some fake cards, even at shoptemp
     
  19. Yanazake
    OP

    Member Yanazake GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    295
    Location:
    HUNTING MAH CONSOLES!
    Country:
    Brazil
    Oh, DUH! Answer is right here! [​IMG]
    I wasn't sure if AKAIO would do that check for me, but well, it actually did, lol!
    Thanks anyway!
     

Share This Page