Wad manager

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by DigitalSquirrel, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008

Wad manager by DigitalSquirrel at 9:51 PM (3,314 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. DigitalSquirrel
    OP

    Member DigitalSquirrel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    Is anyone working on a wad manager patch for 3.4 menu?
     


  2. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Wad manager 1.3 can be used on 3.4, but just to install IOS16 [​IMG]
     
  3. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Code:
    Notice: At this time, WiiBrew recommends that you do not update your Wii through Nintendo, as it disables the Twilight Hack and installation of PatchMii and PatchMii installs of DVDx. HBC beta 9 can possibly be disabled/removed.
    hope they don't!
    i understand some people who updated can still install wads.
     
  4. DigitalSquirrel
    OP

    Member DigitalSquirrel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    What is IOS16?
     
  5. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Out of curiosity. I understand a good % of what works and doesnt work.. but can someone answer this for me? Can the custom Wad manager that works with IOS16 be used to install any wad? I mean assuming not, what prevents from what worked in 3.3v2 from working in 3.4?
     
  6. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    i dunno that the twilight hack didnt work anymore [​IMG] finally nintendo strikes back but it will be hacked again [​IMG] this is reminding me to the psp scene maybe i should get my psp out again [​IMG]
     
  7. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
  8. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    so then whats the big deal? Most people who upgraded are keeping their homebrew channel. and if that method still works.. then unless Im missing something..... cant people just downgrade as they have been?
     
  9. DigitalSquirrel
    OP

    Member DigitalSquirrel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    I upgraded to 3.4 out of preference (and frankly I did it too quick), but I'm getting itchy sitting in this IOS. I don't mess with wads or anything, I just use the HBC, so there shouldn't be any reason to stress it... should there? I just really want a disable for auto-updates. I don't like the idea of Nintendo mind-porking my Wii without my consent.
     
  10. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Sure but Im not understanding what is preventing someone on 3.4 to downgrade to 3.2.. if the pir8 method still works.
     
  11. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, I did. (I upgraded after I knew I could go back. I anted to test something.) My Wii is back at 3.2 Starfall again.
    Th only problem there is at the moment is if you don't have the homebrew channel, either because you are new or because you deleted it, because there is no twilight hack to isntall it again.
     
  12. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    lol thats it? Thats no emergency. And here I thought the sky was falling.
     
  13. RadioShadow

    Member RadioShadow GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    525
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The method does work. I even recorded the method doing it on my brothers Wii. Installed 3.4E, installed the fixes. Then downgraded to 3.2E
     
  14. DigitalSquirrel
    OP

    Member DigitalSquirrel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    258
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, that's good to hear. I still have my HBC, so I think I'll wait for some patches or something before I go ahead and downgrade. It's sort of unnecessary.
     
  15. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Well I didn't like not having a fallback should I screw something up, with the twilight hack and trucha discs gone. Otherwise 3.4 is pretty nice (for example the fast SD-speed) and once there is a new game exploit that I can use as fallback and/or a 3.4 version of starfall I shall go back there.
     
  16. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Ok if someone open the TP hack, play for a while on an empty slot (so the save looks like a real save) and then try to install Homebrew Channel in 3.4, will it work?? anyone willing to try??
     
  17. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I dont think so. I seem to recall someone lost a save file that had already been played. Could be wrong though.
     
  18. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    What? You don't get the TP save-file on 3.4, period.
     
  19. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Mmmmm but still we need someone to confirm, and since none of us is willing to delete their HBC and update, we're with the doubt still...!!! [​IMG]
     
  20. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    No we don't. Nintendo checks for the illegal length of Eponas name. No 9 quadrillian hours of playtime will change this.
     

Share This Page