vwii save game data question

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by gi5431, Mar 25, 2013.

Mar 25, 2013

vwii save game data question by gi5431 at 3:20 AM (917 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. gi5431
    OP

    Member gi5431 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    So my wii-u gamepad would only connect to the console if i was standing 2 feet away from it. After some research I realized it was a hardware malfunction and had to be repaired by nintendo. I took it back to walmart and they swapped it out for me. I know technically my warranty was not valid as I violated the return agreement when I flashed the vwii but because i had nothing to do with the fault I decided that i could live with the guilt.

    Anyway i copied my vwii save game files over to the SD card on the old wii before i returned it. When i put the sd card in the new console it will display the saves on the vwii save game manager but it won't move or copy. The nintendo website only gives u a method using both consoles and a network but obviously I only have the sd card of the old console. Is there any way of getting my zelda file back?
     
  2. Unsought

    Newcomer Unsought Stop being a fucking dinosaur and get a job

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2013
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Somewhere that is here but isn't here
    Country:
    United States
    When I was in vWii I just went onto my sd card and copied my save files without any apps.
    I couldn't even do that with my regular wii.
     
  3. ruiner9

    Newcomer ruiner9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Is your vWii hacked yet? You'll probably need to run a game-save manager from the HBC to move your saves back to the vWii, as they circumvent the ownership rights.
     
  4. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    You have to play the game on the new vWii and create a save first. Then you can delete that save and copy your old save from SD.
     
  5. gi5431
    OP

    Member gi5431 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    I tried playing the game first but the old save still wouldn't copy over.

    ruiner9 - Yes I have already hacked the new vwii and I will install 'game save manager' tonight. Thanks for the tip and i'll tell u how it goes. BTW Is it safe to install or do i have to be careful with what version i put on?

    Also are .wads safe to install now and has anybody got an up to date idiot tutorial? - I have looked myself (not just being lazy) but i could only find wii instructions or guides that i'm not sure about. I attempted it using 'usb loader gx' but no success and I'm abit paranoid about messing the wii-u up. I read that there is 2 ways, Is nandemu the better method?

    thanks ppl
     
  6. julialy

    Member julialy Homebrewer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,445
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    nope, there's no boot mii/priiloader for vwii yet so it is dangerous to install wad
     
  7. The Real Jdbye

    Member The Real Jdbye D:

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    8,582
    Location:
    Doing your mom
    Country:
    Norway
    That depends on what you install. Replacing IOSes is dangerous as ones meant for the normal Wii won't work and could cause bricks. Replacing the System Menu IOS or modifying it is always dangerous.
    System Menu WADs can't be installed yet (SM is encrypted) and will cause bricks.
    WiiWare/VC wads known to work are safe to install though. Forwarders and homebrew channels have to be updated for vWii, so old ones don't work (won't cause bricks though), but as long as they are known working with vWii they should be safe to install.

    I'm not sure what you tried to do with USB Loader GX? Were you installing the WAD Forwarder/Channel? I'm not sure if they have a vWii compatible version yet as I use WiiFlow.
     
  8. ruiner9

    Newcomer ruiner9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    The latest version of USB Loader GX is definitely compatible as long as you have a vWii edition Hermes D2X cIOS set up in 249. I have a forwarder installed that works with it, too. Everything works, including the channel menu.
     
  9. gi5431
    OP

    Member gi5431 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    Messages:
    150
    Country:
    United States
    which forwarder works?
     
  10. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    Don't you mean 'vWii edition D2X cIOS setup in 249'?
     
  11. ruiner9

    Newcomer ruiner9 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2012
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    United States
    Whoa! Yes! Yes I do! NOT Hermes. Thanks for the correction.

    As far as the forwarders go, there's a whole thread of them, still on the 1st page of this forum:

    http://gbatemp.net/threads/forwarders-are-back.340226/
     

Share This Page