Voltage issue

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by Seratonin, Feb 11, 2013.

Feb 11, 2013

Voltage issue by Seratonin at 2:16 AM (401 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Seratonin
    OP

    Member Seratonin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Allison Park, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I have been recently using the computer I built and I notice that when I move some windows the windows trail. I called EVGA and they said it could be because of my PSU or my GPU. I told them my voltage readings on my 12v and they said it was too high. My 12 volt goes from 12.288 to 12.416. Here are my voltages.

    http://tinypic.com/r/bg1p49/6

    I have a hx750 watt gold PSU that my friend gave me. He said it was new and it has warranty. I also have a regular GTX 660 from EVGA.
     
  2. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    You are not going to get exact +12.00 V even with top of the quality PSU.

    The only way to get an accurate reading of voltage is to use multi-meter and tap into yellow and black wire. No software or BIOS can give you an accurate reading. Since you have computer running your +12 V should be within ATX spec.

    HX750 is a decent quality PSU. Since you say you build your PC, mind giving us the full specification?
     
  3. Seratonin
    OP

    Member Seratonin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Allison Park, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
  4. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Everything looks fine. Curious why you use 3570K when you have H77 motherboard.

    But EVGA support sure is no good. Even if +12.416 V is the accurate reading (which is not), that is still within ATX spec and nowhere near too high. ATX spec calls for +12 V to be ranged from +11.40 V to +12.60 V.

    You did connect the extra PCIe power cable to the GPU right?
     
  5. Seratonin
    OP

    Member Seratonin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Allison Park, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I accidentally listed a different CPU. I have a Intel i5 2500k. I connected the 6+2 connector to the card and I put the 2 pin aside because the card needs 6 pins. I am still having problems as I see the windows trails on my screen. I didn't connect any other cables if that answers your question.
     
  6. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    Just know that you cannot do any overclocking on H77 motherboard with K CPU (you'll need either P67, Z68, or Z77 motherboard).

    Have you installed the latest Nvidia driver? Is it stable or beta?
     
  7. Seratonin
    OP

    Member Seratonin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Allison Park, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't been overclocking and I have the beta version of the drivers. Will I need to replace the board?
     
  8. trumpet-205

    Member trumpet-205 Embrace the darkness within

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,363
    Country:
    United States
    No. It is just that most people get K CPU with overclocking in mind, hence I asked why H77. It is perfectly fine to use it as is without overclocking.

    Try the stable version of the driver.
     
  9. Seratonin
    OP

    Member Seratonin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Allison Park, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Do I just uninstall with device manager? Can you recommend me a link to go to for the specific driver. Just in case because I don't want to screw things up.
     
  10. Seratonin
    OP

    Member Seratonin GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    158
    Location:
    Allison Park, Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    EDIT - False alarm it works.
     

Share This Page