Viva Pinata Pocket Paradise

Discussion in 'EDGE' started by semiartificial, Dec 13, 2008.

Dec 13, 2008
  1. semiartificial
    OP

    Newcomer semiartificial Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry if this is a known issue (no search facility on this site). I am relatively new to this whole area (ROMS/cards etc), just a dad trying to get some games sorted out for Christmas. I am also trying to be very mindful of the forum rules.

    I have now tried four different roms, from different places, both the European and US versions, and get white screens every time. I notice it leaves a sav file after trying to play it. Every other game plays ok. I thought that maybe this is a recognised problem, but there is no patch in the download section, and nothing about a problem shows up on google.

    Could anyone shed any light on this please?

    Update:

    Looks like I need this 'arm7' fix.
    Using DSLAZY is too complex for me and this PC, so tried to use ARM7FIXA.
    It didn't complete the process (got a 'run time error'), again this may be due to my old PC.
    Or it might be because I don't know the right donor rom to use.
    Any suggestions?

    Update 2:

    I got ARMFIXA to run with an arm7.bin file I found, but the result didn't work.
    Any ideas/pointers as to what will?

    Also, without breaking forum rules, any suggestions for really good search terms to put into Google to find a 'simpler answer' (!) would be appreciated
     
  2. Fusion

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    I asked this exact same question, so you & i are in the same boat atm.

    I would also like to know if anyone has problems with this game at all with either euro/usa release.

    I tried arm7 fixing it, but it still fails to load. [​IMG]
     
  3. Tanas

    Member Tanas GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2006
    Messages:
    2,258
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    This game doesnt work with the v1.42 firmware, you will have to go back to v1.41 for it to work.
     
  4. Fusion

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Strange, i never seen any firmware break compatibility with firmware updates.

    Has any card broken compatibility with there updates?
     
  5. semiartificial
    OP

    Newcomer semiartificial Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks ... interesting.

    I will use 1.41 if I can get it from the Edge site and my other games work ok with it.

    Would appreciate confirmation that there isn't a working fix somewhere out there, though, and how I can apply it.

    I have seen a link that states they have a fully tested and working rom, but that's from a paid download site, and I'm not going there!

    Thanks again.
     
  6. Echo1

    Member Echo1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    Messages:
    100
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Lol. My (official) R4DS can play it perfectly (unpatched) yet my EDGE with its latest firmware can't, though it could with the previous firmware, that's pretty bad.
     
  7. semiartificial
    OP

    Newcomer semiartificial Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well, thank you very much.

    I downloaded v1.41 from this site (what a great site it is!) and Viva Pinata now works fine, just as you said.

    I was a little worried that Club Penguin wouldn't work, as it's listed on the Edge site as a rom which 1.42 provides a compatibility fix for, but it seems to load and start ok. Hope that continues and that I haven't solved one problem and caused another, my son loves Club Penguin, and it looks like a really nice DS game.

    All the help has been much appreciated.
     
  8. TraumaHoundNDS

    Member TraumaHoundNDS GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Seattle, WA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    My CycloDS runs it just fine, odd that EDGE doesn't. Haven't tried it on the R4 as my daughter's SD card is full. [​IMG]
     
  9. Fusion

    Member Fusion On/Off GBA-Temp'er

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    1,322
    Country:
    Out of curiosity, does the EDGE-DS run any other firmware/loaders, like the R4 can run the DSTT/YSMenu?

    I wonder if one extracts a cyclo .evo firmware & mucking about with it can do.
     

Share This Page