1. Trolledge

    OP Trolledge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    Hey guys, I found this tutorial to make vita usb work on linux(Ubuntu),
    I've made it work on Zorin os 12(based on Ubuntu 16.04)

    #sudo apt-get install build-essential git linux-headers
    #git clone https://github.com/evan-a-a/exfat-nofuse
    #cd exfat-nofuse
    #make -j2
    #sudo make install

    Note: Remember to remove exfat-utils and exfat-fuse.

    #sudo modprobe exfat

    plug vita usb and it should work now.

    Original source Link> https://www.reddit.com/r/vitahacks/...ate_with_usb/dccekoh/?st=iyd129nz&sh=76ebe7af

    Note 2: Sorry for my bad English :)
     
    ramersonw and Little Zed like this.
  2. Dave_Chad

    Dave_Chad GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    700
    Country:
    I don't use Linux but thanks for this either way.

    Just wanted to say I hate to see people apologising for their English when they usual speak better English than some of the people I have grown up with ha ha.

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
     
    pauloedsonjk likes this.
  3. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    Doesnt work for me it wont install exfat nofuse on my PC
     
  4. Trolledge

    OP Trolledge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    what linux are you using??
    did you run the commands as normal user or root user?
     
  5. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    ubuntu 16.10 when i run sudo modprobe exfat i have this ( modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'exfat': Exec format error )what is this error ?
     
    Last edited by laharl22, Jan 26, 2017
  6. Trolledge

    OP Trolledge Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    make sure that you remove both exfat-utils and exfat-fuse before run "modprobe exfat", and make sure that Vita is unplug during all the process.
    I've made im my zorin and works great.
     
  7. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    I have make sudo apt-get remove for exfatfuse and fuseutil before installing exfat nofuse why i have exec error ?i have a PC portable acer aspire amd64
     
  8. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    yhe problem are not secure boot i gave desactived have you an idea ?
     
  9. Kerbangman

    Kerbangman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Worked for me thanks

    Actually it did not!

    I can acess the vita view files and folders.
    It seems to transfer files and folders.

    But when say running a vpk I get and error #FFFFFF

    Windows is now saying there is an error on the vita card!
     
    Last edited by Kerbangman, Jan 26, 2017
  10. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    any help for my exec error ?
     
  11. Gnarmagon
    This message by Gnarmagon has been removed from public view by raulpica, Jan 27, 2017, Reason: Off-topic -rp.
    Jan 27, 2017
  12. Kerbangman

    Kerbangman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Try going on the github and follow th DKMS version of installation.
    https://github.com/evan-a-a/exfat-nofuse
    This worked for me in the end.

    One thing to point out is not to disconnect the Vita from PC until you really know its downloaded.
    Linux is a bit naff with showing transfering on the GUI.
    Sometimes it shows sometimes it doesnt.
     
    laharl22 likes this.
  13. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    when i type this
    sudo cp -R . /usr/src/exfat-1.2.8 i have impossible to evaluate cache mozzilla in the terminal
     
  14. Kerbangman

    Kerbangman GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2016
    Messages:
    521
    Country:
    Download the files as a zip from Github and unzip them in a folder in Documents. eg. EXfat master etc
    Go into that folder and right click to open terminal in this folder.
    type dir to check that all the downloaded files are there.
    Then go through the Installing as a DKMS module.
     
    laharl22 likes this.
  15. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    i make this and it say
    d -m exfat -v 1.2.8
    Error! Could not locate dkms.conf file.
    File: /usr/src/exfat-1.2.8/dkms.conf does not exist for each command edit i forgot the first command
     
    Last edited by laharl22, Jan 30, 2017
  16. Youkai

    Youkai Demon
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,462
    Country:
    Germany
    So what exactly can I do with this ?
    Connecting the Vita with the PC and look into the file system ?

    If you can browse the files and such, is it possible to format "broken" sd cards ?
    There are some vpks and such that render your sd unusuable as they write some files into the wrong directorys if I understood it right but you can not format it trough the Vita itselfs as you get an error message, could this work if you try to format it trough the Linux system ?
     
  17. Gnarmagon

    Gnarmagon Noob <3
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    Germany
    Where do you install Vitashell ? ;)
    (Try it with Application Storage Manager)
     
  18. laharl22

    laharl22 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,764
    Country:
    France
    I stay on FTP method USB is to buggy 2 PSP games give me a 0bit file on vita and to others black screen freeze
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - (Ubuntu), Shell, Linux