Hacking Vita Shell 1.5 USB on Linux (Ubuntu)

Trolledge

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
53
Country
Brazil
Hey guys, I found this tutorial to make vita usb work on linux(Ubuntu),
I've made it work on Zorin os 12(based on Ubuntu 16.04)

#sudo apt-get install build-essential git linux-headers
#git clone https://github.com/evan-a-a/exfat-nofuse
#cd exfat-nofuse
#make -j2
#sudo make install

Note: Remember to remove exfat-utils and exfat-fuse.

#sudo modprobe exfat

plug vita usb and it should work now.

Original source Link> https://www.reddit.com/r/vitahacks/...ate_with_usb/dccekoh/?st=iyd129nz&sh=76ebe7af

Note 2: Sorry for my bad English :)
 

Dave_Chad

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 29, 2016
Messages
696
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
1,825
Country
I don't use Linux but thanks for this either way.

Just wanted to say I hate to see people apologising for their English when they usual speak better English than some of the people I have grown up with ha ha.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A3003 using Tapatalk
 
  • Like
Reactions: pauloedsonjk

laharl22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
1,765
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
584
Country
France
ubuntu 16.10 when i run sudo modprobe exfat i have this ( modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'exfat': Exec format error )what is this error ?
 
Last edited by laharl22,

Trolledge

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 25, 2016
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
53
Country
Brazil
ubuntu 16.10 when i run sudo modprobe exfat i have this ( modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'exfat': Exec format error )what is this error ?

make sure that you remove both exfat-utils and exfat-fuse before run "modprobe exfat", and make sure that Vita is unplug during all the process.
I've made im my zorin and works great.
 

laharl22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
1,765
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
584
Country
France
make sure that you remove both exfat-utils and exfat-fuse before run "modprobe exfat", and make sure that Vita is unplug during all the process.
I've made im my zorin and works great.
I have make sudo apt-get remove for exfatfuse and fuseutil before installing exfat nofuse why i have exec error ?i have a PC portable acer aspire amd64
 

Kerbangman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
525
Trophies
0
Age
59
XP
668
Country
Worked for me thanks

Actually it did not!

I can acess the vita view files and folders.
It seems to transfer files and folders.

But when say running a vpk I get and error #FFFFFF

Windows is now saying there is an error on the vita card!
 
Last edited by Kerbangman,

Kerbangman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
525
Trophies
0
Age
59
XP
668
Country
yhe problem are not secure boot i gave desactived have you an idea ?

Try going on the github and follow th DKMS version of installation.
https://github.com/evan-a-a/exfat-nofuse
This worked for me in the end.

One thing to point out is not to disconnect the Vita from PC until you really know its downloaded.
Linux is a bit naff with showing transfering on the GUI.
Sometimes it shows sometimes it doesnt.
 
  • Like
Reactions: laharl22

laharl22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
1,765
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
584
Country
France
Try going on the github and follow th DKMS version of installation.
https://github.com/evan-a-a/exfat-nofuse
This worked for me in the end.

One thing to point out is not to disconnect the Vita from PC until you really know its downloaded.
Linux is a bit naff with showing transfering on the GUI.
Sometimes it shows sometimes it doesnt.
when i type this
sudo cp -R . /usr/src/exfat-1.2.8 i have impossible to evaluate cache mozzilla in the terminal
 

Kerbangman

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
525
Trophies
0
Age
59
XP
668
Country
Download the files as a zip from Github and unzip them in a folder in Documents. eg. EXfat master etc
Go into that folder and right click to open terminal in this folder.
type dir to check that all the downloaded files are there.
Then go through the Installing as a DKMS module.
 
  • Like
Reactions: laharl22

laharl22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
1,765
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
584
Country
France
i make this and it say
d -m exfat -v 1.2.8
Error! Could not locate dkms.conf file.
File: /usr/src/exfat-1.2.8/dkms.conf does not exist for each command edit i forgot the first command
 
Last edited by laharl22,

Youkai

Demon
Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2004
Messages
2,470
Trophies
0
Age
33
Location
Germany , NRW
XP
1,778
Country
Germany
So what exactly can I do with this ?
Connecting the Vita with the PC and look into the file system ?

If you can browse the files and such, is it possible to format "broken" sd cards ?
There are some vpks and such that render your sd unusuable as they write some files into the wrong directorys if I understood it right but you can not format it trough the Vita itselfs as you get an error message, could this work if you try to format it trough the Linux system ?
 

Gnarmagon

Noob <3
Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2016
Messages
647
Trophies
0
Age
19
XP
754
Country
Germany
So what exactly can I do with this ?
Connecting the Vita with the PC and look into the file system ?

If you can browse the files and such, is it possible to format "broken" sd cards ?
There are some vpks and such that render your sd unusuable as they write some files into the wrong directorys if I understood it right but you can not format it trough the Vita itselfs as you get an error message, could this work if you try to format it trough the Linux system ?
Where do you install Vitashell ? ;)
(Try it with Application Storage Manager)
 

laharl22

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2014
Messages
1,765
Trophies
0
Age
35
XP
584
Country
France
I stay on FTP method USB is to buggy 2 PSP games give me a 0bit file on vita and to others black screen freeze
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Guggimon @ Guggimon: No i never have