Virtual Desktop Switcher

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by raiderscrusade, Aug 6, 2011.

Aug 6, 2011
  1. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Hello,

    Recently I have been looking into a Virtual Desktop Switcher for Windows 7. This is because I am running a lot of programs in the taskbar.

    Most of the programs I run, however, require UAC or whatever it is, therefore they run as admin. With the Virtual Desktop Switchers that I have tried, they do not hide these programs, therefore they show up in the taskbar regardless of the desktop that I view.

    Is anyone aware of a Virtual Desktop Switcher which does indeed hide the programs that run as admin, rather than show them in every single window?

    If you do know of any, it would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks.
     
  2. person66

    Member person66 If it isn't edited, it isn't a true person66 post

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,110
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  3. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    there's another one called Dexpot, and has the option to work like Compix fusion with the 3D cube.
     
  4. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    Haven't found one. I have the same "problem" with Visual Studio, although it doesn't really bother me. I'm using Dexpot too, there is nothing that comes close to it in terms of functions and usability.
     
  5. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    I'll try both them out, thanks.

    Just out of curiosity, have any of you tried running the desktop switcher as an admin (elevated rights), then opened the program you usually use with elevated rights, and seeing if that perhaps leaves that elevated rights program in the 1 desktop only?
     
  6. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doing that, if you try to run Dexpot in non-admin, whilst having a admin one running already, then the non admin won't run.
     
  7. redfalcon

    Member redfalcon GBATemp Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    250
    Country:
    Germany
    Heh, interesting. This actually does work, at least with Visual Studio.
     
  8. raiderscrusade
    OP

    Member raiderscrusade GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    433
    Country:
    Australia
    Sweet. It works for numerous programs then, not just the ones I'm using [​IMG]
     

Share This Page