VC games (Launched Failed from SD Card)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by megabug7, Jan 8, 2010.

Jan 8, 2010
  1. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I posted this in my other thread - but felt it better here.

    So I got this niggle and can't work out why.

    Installed a few VC games with Wadmanager on the Wii, and then transferred them to the SD Card.

    I can copy them back to the Wii, or launch them from the SD card fine.

    Except 2 (so far)
    When I initially installed these 2 - they play fine
    I can copy them to the SD card, and that's where they fail to launch, I also can't move them back to the Wii again.

    Any ideas? [​IMG]

    TiA

    - F
     


  2. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Is your System Menu IOS trucha bugged? You need it in order to play pirated VC games from SD card.
     
  3. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I can play all but those 2 (for now) from SD

    I did the Trucha Bug thing after I installed the HBC channel:

    from the below thread
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=171901

    To be honest I don't know what that last line meant

    Choose IOS36 to start a stub removal process

    So all I did was press A continually until it seemed done.

    Could it be those 2 wads are signed differently?

    If so how can I tell?
     
  4. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    did u install a patched SYSTEM MENU IOS? which is ios70 for 4.2, and ios60 for 4.0 and 4.1
     
  5. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Not IOS 36. The IOS your System Menu uses needs the bug.

    3.X: IOS 30
    4.0-4.1: IOS 60
    4.2: IOS 70.
     
  6. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which of the above do I install?

    Do I Have to install BootMii?
     
  7. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad this, if you want to play your games from the SD menu, but you should install bootmii to boot2 if you can. It's stupid not to..
     
  8. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok I'm going to install BootMii...and then install that wad.
     
  9. kingofsnake

    Newcomer kingofsnake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If these are large games then perhaps your system memory is too full for the games to be copied over to your nand, check the number of blocks in the games and the number of free blocks on your wii.
     
  10. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    buddy, don't be stupid!!!! u skipped installing bootmii!!! that's like sleeping with a hooker without using a condom... both things run the risk of breaking your tool! lol

    seriously, bootmii as boot2 is the ultimate brick protection

    second best protection is bootmii as ios combined with priiloader (see my signature for all priiloader related downloads)
     
  11. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    LOL okay -- slight oversight - I'm just preparing the SD card [​IMG]
     
  12. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    impossible, because you can "overinstall" wads to your system memory even if its full, but once u return to the system menu it will force you to delete some channels until you have a least 1 block of free space. So having a full sys memory would not stop some1 from installing wads
     
  13. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Bootmii installed - backing up Nand now

    Shows 2 bad blocks?
     
  14. daxtsu

    Member daxtsu -

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Messages:
    5,289
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Bad blocks are normal. Don't worry about it, unless you end up with more than about 20.
     
  15. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Verifying backup (not skipping)
    6 bad blocks in total

    So Nand is backed up and I've installed that IOS70-64-v6687[TB+ES_diV+NAND].wad

    Do I need to use BootMii from now, or only in emergency?
     
  16. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Cool All works fine now [​IMG]

    Thanks bunches all of you [​IMG]
     
  17. kingofsnake

    Newcomer kingofsnake Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I could not play some of the games from my SD card when there were not enough free blocks left on the Wii memory. Was getting the error msg to say that. You could always try it if you are an unbeliever.
    Also the OP was talking about playing wads from SD not installing wads.
     
  18. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm a little stuck with finding an up-to-date VC injection method, as it seems the old methods no longer work and the resulting output.wad is 246 kb.

    Has the whole era VC injecting and banner creation etc. died?

    I have tried HowardC's tools (keeps giving me a 'filesize is different error' with injecting).

    Also tried the VERY first method (which started it all).
     
  19. megabug7
    OP

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Out of curiosity - will I be able to do the above on a Black Wii?

    I want to get a black wii

    I am not interested in playing disc backups -- just homebrew, vc/wiiware/emulation.
     
  20. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep.

    The black Wiis can...
    run copied VC, Wiiware
    run games from USB,
    just not discs.
     

Share This Page