Using the Nintendo DS as a wireless controller for your PC!

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by weegeeweeg, Mar 8, 2017.

1. weegeeweeg
    OP

weegeeweeg Newbie

Newcomer
    Mar 8, 2017
    Canada
    I wrote this guide for a Smash fangame site for complete beginners, so apologies if there's how-to's on stuff that most of you already know how to do. I tried to optimize this guide for a more tech-savvy audience. Mods, please feel free to edit or move this to where you want it. Thanks.

Pros and Cons

Pros:
    -No input lag
    -Practical
    -Cheap
    -Reliable

Cons:
    -D-Pad is small
    -A B X Y buttons are quite small too... I hope you don't have massive fingers
    -Requires old, but still stable and functional, software
    -Possible risk of having an unsecure broadcasted network; please read the Risks section

Equipment
    - Nintendo DS
    (not sure about DSi)
    - Flashcart
    - Windows or Linux computer -
    Sorry mac users!
    - Internet connection capable of broadcasting a no-security or WEP-security network
    - microSD card with at least 128MB
    - Freeware to edit text documents that contain code, such as Notepad++.
    - A DS game that can connect to Wi-Fi

Procedure

Step 1: If you haven't already set up your flashcart to use some sort of homebrew or R4 software to execute ROMs, there are guides online for different cards; most R4 cards use the software from R4 SDHC's official website.

Step 2: Download DS2KEY. Extract the zip file to your desktop. Make a folder to contain the 2 executable files, because the executables generate settings files that we will need for the program to function properly and to map the DS keys. Next, put the .nds file on your microSD card (it shouldn't matter where). Lastly, you can trash COPYING and the readme. Note: This is not my software, credits to sypherce from 1emulation.com forums.