Using Classic Controller w/ Emulators

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by NDSPhr34k, Oct 14, 2008.

Oct 14, 2008
  1. NDSPhr34k
    OP

    Newcomer NDSPhr34k Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    91
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone gotten this to work?

    I plug my Wii Classic Controller in, and it does not work with emulators such as FCEUltraGX or VisualBoyAdvanceGX.

    I look in the options if there's a choice to switch to the classic controller but there isn't. There's just remapping config for all controllers.
     
  2. hartleyshc

    Member hartleyshc GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Country:
    United States
    try plugging in the classic controller after the emulator starts.
    personally i just use the wii remote for fce, but use the classic controller on the snes9xgx.
    havent tested it with vba yet, will do that probably today sometime.
     
  3. Trulen

    Member Trulen GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    445
    Country:
    United States
    You can try what I do:

    Start the program with the classic controller in.

    Wait about a minute or two.

    Unplug classic controller.

    Plug classic controller back in.

    Should work.
    It always does for me.
     
  4. DespizingU

    Member DespizingU GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2007
    Messages:
    705
    Country:
    United States
    Yep, I use the classic controller for VBA. I just plug in the classic controller after the emulator starts up. I've used it in FCE Ultra, SNES9 GX, and Geneis Plus too.
     
  5. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba

    you don't need to wait one minute or two lol
    just unplug/replug or start the homebrew channel with no controller plugged

    this is a bug with the wiimote/bluetooth library used by homebrew: expansion controllers are not properly detected when already inserted, only when reinserted
    the library used by the system menu and legit nintendo applications use a different protocol apparently
     
  6. NosferatuZODD

    Newcomer NosferatuZODD Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    United States
    This method also works in wii games like Geometry Wars if the analog isn't working properly. I thought it was broken until I finally just unplugged it and plugged it back in and sure enough it worked perfectly.
     

Share This Page