using a polish ds in the uk

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by gazbut68, Feb 5, 2009.

Feb 5, 2009

using a polish ds in the uk by gazbut68 at 7:31 PM (902 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. gazbut68
    OP

    Newcomer gazbut68 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    hi all
    top forum
    i've been offered a ds lite from poland for £50 (100% genuine from a friend)
    question though?
    will power charger be ok in uk?
    thanks gazbut
     
  2. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well if its a PAL DS it should be fine (PAL is what's usually sold in Europe for videogames). If it is NTSC (From the US) you may have a problem. Same goes with Japanese. Ask your friend where he got it and if it can play games bought in Europe.

    The power charger I'm not sure, however you may have to buy a new one if Poland uses a different wall outlet.
     
  3. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can buy a converter if it has a different outlet, they range from £3 to £9.
     
  4. leonheart_a

    Member leonheart_a GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Like Hadrian said just buy a converter, I bought my DS from Dubai and used a converter for charging. Still working great [​IMG]
     
  5. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    I got mines from poundland 2 for £1 lol.
     
  6. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    *thwack*

    the DS is not region locked!

    you will need to buy a UK charger, or a basic pin adapter since all of Europe uses the same mains voltages and sync rates
     
  7. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I remembered that 5 minutes after posting but then I could find the topic anywhere.

    And why do the outlet pins change between almost every country?
     
  8. gazbut68
    OP

    Newcomer gazbut68 Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    thanks everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  9. ArAcHnId

    Newcomer ArAcHnId Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Belgium
    too annoy other countries, years ago, if you had the same one as another country you weren't as "cool"
     
  10. UltraMagnus

    Member UltraMagnus hic sunt dracones

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,967
    Location:
    Portsmouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    pretty much, everyone always wants their own "standard", not realising more than one standard is no standard at all.

    the is also a historical part, different parts of even the same country would often use different voltages.
     

Share This Page