Use Wii peripherals from other countries???

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Gullwing, Oct 21, 2008.

Oct 21, 2008
  1. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    So I'm planning to buy some wii remotes, gamecube controllers and memory cards and a balance board from America. So will they work properly on my European Wii???
     
  2. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Can someone please tell me???
     
  3. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure, lots of people imported the Super Famicon/SNES controller from Japan, the one given as a Club Nintendo freebie(I want one [​IMG])
     
  4. WB3000

    Member WB3000 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    668
    Country:
    United States
    The Wii console is identical from region to region, just a firmware difference. I don't see why the peripherals would be any different.

    [​IMG] I have a Japanese SNES/Famicon controller, works great!
     
  5. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, all that is different is the firmware on the NAND. I was thinking of importing one, never got to it. [​IMG]

    ((Offtopic)(Would you be willing to test a banner I made, it's my first and I don't have LoZ TP just in case to unbrick(a banner brick), if you can unbrick. Please? Or someone who can unbrick[I send the wad without the ROM file, which should be the game, right?]))
     
  6. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    So it will function properly right?
     
  7. Chinman

    Member Chinman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i personally have a jap balance board and works fine on my UK wii, peripherals have never been region locked as far as i know
     
  8. Gullwing
    OP

    Member Gullwing Synesthete

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    964
    Location:
    Behind You
    Country:
    Greece
    Ok thanks... I'm really happy now [​IMG]
     
  9. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have Japanese WIi remotes that work fine on my UK launch Wii.
     
  10. ComplicatioN

    Member ComplicatioN Broken Barriers

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    844
    Location:
    Thousand Sunny
    Country:
    Australia
    i'm pretty sure it does cos my freind imported his stuff from america :wtf: not the console tho.
     

Share This Page