Use IOS247 for Backuplauncher 0.3

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by WiiPower, Oct 31, 2008.

Oct 31, 2008
  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    @firmware 3.3 users, if you have the new 3.3 version and/or you did an online update: Don't follow this guide!

    The fact, that you are reading this means you have heard about ios247, and you don't know what it is and/or you want to install it. IOS247 is not a certain cIOS, every cIOS can be ios247. It's called that way, because when you install it on your wii, your wii knows it as ios247. EVERY cIOS can be modificated to be any ios, ios23,ios42,ios247,ios133... up to ios254(please don't correct me if 254 is possible but not the highest). The purpose of the modification of one cIOS to be ios247 is to run multiple backup launchers without the need to install/deinstall stuff when switching between the loaders.

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    Short install guide for 0.1 and 0.3b loaders, with ios249 for 0.1 and ios247 for 0.3b:

    1. uninstall DVDx, if you had it installed. This can be done with DVDx itself
    2. uninstall IOS247 and IOS249 if they exist, AnyTitleDeleter is a good choice for this purpose.

    3. use WAD-Manager to install cios_fix by ppc_gba
    This cIOS is an improved version of the first backup launcher's cIOS36rev5 (
     


  2. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    i cant do all of THAT! but if you post an alternitive Boot.dol for the launcher and a CIOSinstaller I will try it! (i think the last loader had better compat even if it did lag a bit...would it still lag, require patching of the ISO?)

    thanks in advanced for the time you take to do this [​IMG]
     
  3. WiiShizzza

    Member WiiShizzza Graphics juggler

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,201
    Country:
    Germany
    Yeah, knew of it.
    Somewhere around here I've already posted it....
    But somehow I can't get my dev environment installed proper.
    Don't know where's the problem... Maybe my devkitpro doesn't eork on vista, or I got some libraries missing.

    I'll try to set it up again.
     
  4. Hideki-kun

    Member Hideki-kun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  5. BL4Z3D247

    Member BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    615
    Location:
    I'm so high I don't even know!
    Country:
    United States
    someone else was trying to do this i think. like vettacossx said if you post a boot.dol(s) and i'll try it too.
     
  6. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    ivge just compiled it and im going to test it
     
  7. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    ive tested it and it works fine [​IMG]
     
  8. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Why can't they just run of the same cios?
     
  9. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    use this tutorial to set up devkitppc [​IMG] http://www.tehskeen.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2968
     
  10. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    So this gets both launchers working properly at the same time ?
     
  11. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    yess if you want i will upload the podified backup launcher & modified cios installer
     
  12. mueueps

    Newcomer mueueps Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Germany
    please! [​IMG]
     
  13. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland

    Well as im sure you know , i try to keep all of the most up to date files in the zip i have , so if this does both launchers i could put them both on a single zip to ensure maximum compatibility with games.

    You guys on here are great - well done on this.
     
  14. ebdynasty

    Member ebdynasty GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That would be great, but I dont get one thing, ive already got 0.3 installed so how do i set this up
     
  15. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    http://rapidshare.com/files/159369328/Wiig...0.3_ios_247.rar

    make shure that dvdx is installed on ios 249 and then just install the cios 247 and run the backup launcher 0.3 247 and it will run but if you want also backup launcher 0.1 just download the file from somwere and run it and it will also load
     
  16. vettacossx

    Member vettacossx Wii Theme Team Founder

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,329
    Location:
    Right Behind You! Uh Oh!
    Country:
    Ireland
    yes please and thanks a lot nick [​IMG] thats awesome [​IMG] please do include the dol you used ( if it is edited at all) so i can inject it into a backup channel wad (if it isnt the same as the old wad channel i used before of course) [​IMG] thanks for that nick! [​IMG]
     
  17. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    check my previous post
     
  18. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Thank you nicksasa. I don't have the new SDHC compatible devkitpro/libogc version and if i wanted to post the .dol files i had to update first. Does anybody know where to get the cios retry fix source code?
     
  19. mueueps

    Newcomer mueueps Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    49
    Country:
    Germany
    is the loader dol also with the "hold b-button for config menu"? if not, is their a way to combine them...?
     
  20. nicksasa

    Member nicksasa GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,410
    Country:
    Belgium
    do you mean the autostart thingy ? i could try to implement it in the dol i will give it a shot [​IMG]
     

Share This Page