USB-Loader without SD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by Vattu, May 27, 2009.

May 27, 2009

USB-Loader without SD? by Vattu at 6:56 PM (3,481 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. Vattu
    OP

    Member Vattu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    I've had a look at the table with the usb loaders listed and tried the ones that had some required features (widescreen, covers...). I tried all those, but (afaik) noone of those supported covers on the USB-HDD (neither on the WBFS nor FAT32-partition.

    Did I miss anything, or isn't there any such loader as of yet?

    My setup:

    PAL Wii 3.2E
    preloader, which loads an usb-loader at startup
    current usb-loader: Ultimate usb-loader 7.4
    widescreen TV

    one strange thing happened when I tried the GX loader without SD (it said something like "no usb drive found")

    Hope I made my question clear and that you can help me in any way.
     
  2. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I believe the fx (so not gx) loader can do that
     
  3. oggzee

    Member oggzee GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    2,335
    Country:
    Slovenia
  4. Vattu
    OP

    Member Vattu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Location:
    Sweden
    Country:
    Sweden
    thanks guys.

    I tried FX, and it didn't cut it. will try the CFG Loader now.

    edit: Tried CFG (v31a and v31aa), cannot mount USB-drive when the SD is not inserted. if the sd is inserted, the loader loads, but I cannot find any configuration that switches the cover store location to USB. and the gui is not proper (probably just a bad theme setting).

    don't know what I'm missing. :/ will look further through the internet!
     
  5. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I know I've used GX without an SD card inserted (but I can't remember the rev), installed as a channel. Covers didn't display though, obviously.... there definitely is no issue with the loader being unable to find the USB if no card is inserted. I believe (but I'm not positive of this) that the newer revs even let you put cover images etc on a fat partition of the USB drive, eliminating the need for SD altogether.
     
  6. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    Out of curiosity, do you know which version of GX allows this? I'm on 409 and didn't see it, I'll have to looko around more.
     
  7. djtaz

    Member djtaz PM's Full - Wadder Me

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,997
    Country:
    Ireland
    I made a wad of one of the original loaders out and it works fine without the SD.
    It uses the orange and black background and doesnt look too pretty without a custom background , but it does work - ill see if i can dig it out at soms stage and upload it for you.
     
  8. benny99

    Newcomer benny99 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Belgium
    I have the GUI-FX loader (link) installed on the FAT partition of my USB HDD

    Install the channel (wad) and lauch it WITHOUT sd card inserted in the slot, it will create the folder structure in the USB disk. (ALL files there). Once installed, the channel works as a forwarder.
     
  9. imapterodactyl

    Member imapterodactyl GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    424
    Country:
    United States
    I always use a forwarder now, but I still had an old r125 channel on my system menu, and just tried it out.... it works just fine with no sd. I'm sure the newer revs do, to. Can't be positive since I haven't loaded GX via channel in ages, though. There's nothing vital stored on the sd (if loading by channel, obviously) that would prevent it from running correctly; as I said before though, if your covers are located on SD, then obviously they won't be loaded.
     
  10. Pyrofyr

    Member Pyrofyr GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,258
    Location:
    Miami
    Country:
    United States
    I always use forwarders too, I was just hoping that there would be a way for me to get the covers/images all running off of the USB. :S

    I'll worry about it in the future though, it's not that important really...
     

Share This Page