USB loader GX suddenly not loading some games

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by northerngeezer, Jan 29, 2011.

  1. northerngeezer
    OP

    Newcomer northerngeezer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I have the latest version of the gx loader (V2.0) on my Wii 4.3E and have approx 15 games which all worked fine until yesterday.

    Now only some games load and others give the black screen of death which result in me having to switch my Wii off/on from the mains. I have reset the loader to default settings and also set the games to Autopatch.

    Another strange thing is that Just Dance 2 was not working yesterday but works today.

    Am totally confused so any help greatly appreciated

    Thanks
     
  2. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Why autopatch ?

    Games don't need anything to boot.
    If it's about region patching, set video mode to "Game default" and that's all.
    use a cIOS compatible with your games/HDD format.
     
  3. northerngeezer
    OP

    Newcomer northerngeezer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United States
    I have just reset the loader using 'Default Settings' and still no luck. Would it be worth deleting the loader and its channel and then reinstalling from scratch?

    Thanks for the quick reply by the way
     
  4. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    You didn't change anything from yesterday to today ?
    What's your HDD partition format ?
    What is your main IOS slot ? and revisions/base ?
    do you use SD and/or USB to store the config file ? (you could have config files present on both device, so it's loading the wrong one instead of creating a new one).

    You could try another loader revision (either older one, but you should use newer instead).
    To use newer revision, you need to boot it from HBC+SD/USB FAT32, or from the forwarder channel.
    the last revision is r1058
    put it into :/apps/usbloader_gx/boot.dol
     
  5. northerngeezer
    OP

    Newcomer northerngeezer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United States
    The last game loaded onto the HDD was Resident Evil 4 PAL which worked fine, all games are either PAL or NR. By the way I'm from the UK despite my profile showing USA flag.

    My HDD is Western Digital 320GB split in half NTFS and WBFS.

    All config files are on my SD card.

    My IOS is IOS249rev17 as far as I know (How do I check this to make sure)

    My loader is the latest version V2.0 which is booted from either HBC or forwarder channel.

    Again thanks for replying.
     
  6. northerngeezer
    OP

    Newcomer northerngeezer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United States
    Just checked that version r1058 is dated as today, so If I go to my loader and choose the update option will that update my loader or should I download the zip file. If I download the file do I just replace the old files with the new ones.

    Sorry for being such a pain.
     
  7. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    all your config seems fine.
    I have exactly the same setup (except FAT32 as first partition instead of NTFS).

    you won't find that revision from the updater, as it's considered beta and not final.
    just replace the boot.dol in your usbloader_gx folder on your SD card.

    check that there's no other config files in your NTFS partition too. if there are, just delete them, so they won't be used instead of the one from the SD.


    PS : it seems you are not the first one to have blackscreen problem without changing anything. Updating the revision solved the problem for (I think) all of them. we don't know why.
    r1058 has been updated for more HDD compatibility. it should be better.
     
  8. northerngeezer
    OP

    Newcomer northerngeezer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United States
    Just replaced the DOL file on the SD card and checked my HDD for any config files.

    Still not working...
     
  9. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    I don't know what's wrong then.
    I just try 1058 and the games (boy and blob, RE4) are launching without problem.


    Your games are all listed without problem?
    Could you try to set another cIOS slot to launch them ? (hermes if you have it)
    In loader setting, set IOS58 to disable (it should already be set to disable, but just to be sure).
    then reload the loader to apply the changes and try booting a game again.

    I'm almost out of ideas
     
  10. northerngeezer
    OP

    Newcomer northerngeezer Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    Yorkshire, UK
    Country:
    United States
    Hi again,

    I've gone into MMM CB2 and after a stack dump error the menu loaded.

    In IOS manager it stated currently loaded: IOS236 V54321 but then I changed it to IOS249 V17. After exiting and going back to MMM CB2 it showed that IOS236 is current.

    And now when I try to load MMM CB2 it gives me the black screen of death. [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,437
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    it shouldn't use 236.
    maybe it doens't see your cIOS anymore (but that just strange. maybe reinstall 249rev17).
    in individual game setting, set IOS249 or 222 or 250, etc.
    it should force the IOS reload on game launch.


    You can try another loader too (like wiiflow) and see if games launch correctly.
    you can also run syscheck to verify your cIOS versions.
     
  12. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    If the wbfs partition table is corrupt.
     
  13. ZenecadE

    Newcomer ZenecadE Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    South Africa
    The same started happening to me. After adding a new game, none will load forcing me to power down my unit. I then open each games settings individually and change the IOS to 222, save and tried again with success. I have to add that my other loaders all still worked fine, it's only USB Loader GX that does this.
     

Share This Page