1. Gargoyle604

    OP Gargoyle604 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi all,

    I'm having some problems with playing Wii games in USB Loader GX . Every timeI load the USB Loader GX, the hard drive is being read and the games show up just like they normally would, but they don't run. The loader shows the games I have and when I try to start the game, it goes to a black screen and after about 20 seconds, the Wii restarts back to the home menu. . The HDD is connected to the top USB slot when the Wii is laid flat. I've tried to updating the CIOS many times, watched several YouTube videos to try to fix the issue to no avail. I also ran a sysCheck but I think it seems fine?

    I am not a Wii mod expert and would like some help in resolving the issue so that my system can be useful in entertaining my kids during the Co-Vid19 pandemic.

    Thank you for any assistance I receive!
     
  2. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,333
    Country:
    France
    you plugged the drive in the wrong usb port.
    or
    your drive is not compatible with cIOS
    or
    you wrongly call "flashdrives" HDD

    Also, following random youtube guide means you probably get a bad one.
    with wrong and outdated setup. but it shouldn't be related to your problem, just a general problem following youtube and coming to GBAtemp to ask for help is the "normal" route...
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Apr 17, 2020
    jeannotte likes this.
  3. Gargoyle604

    OP Gargoyle604 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for pointing out what I didn't do right.
     
    Last edited by Gargoyle604, Apr 17, 2020
    jeannotte and alexander1970 like this.
  4. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,333
    Country:
    France
    and, is any of the things I pointed out helped you fix your problem?
    does it work now? which one was the problem? (because telling the solution will help other users with the same problem finding this thread for help)
     
    jeannotte likes this.
  5. Kagami-san

    Kagami-san Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I have this same problem and yes I've done all those things a zbillion times and I know what I'm doing and it doesn't fix it and there's been so many freaking threads just recently about this issue, none of the responses fix it. The last thing I can try is using a normal HDD that's not an SSD. Even though it can see and hear game previews, see the games in the main menu, but then goes back to main menu after black screening for ~20 seconds despite the cios settings being correct in fact I've tried multiple different settings because the ones I eventually went with aren't working. I've tried the same ones even the same installation cIOS settings for 149, 150 and 151 many times over. I explain more below my exact settings. I've already tried two diff. SSD HDs, I can view them, exactly like the OP above and many others. Exactly like them. I'm positive I have the cios exactly installed correct (I've tried 62 and 63, correct settings... incorrect settings... all of it.) I'm even using 62 right now just to be safe as recommended by you and will use 63 next time I try it if need be and 62 doesn't work again... as I have tried everything exactly as instructed, not as instructed, multiple times for all. I got the games from a reputable source, I trust the files. I'm sure they work in PC emulators, well at least as good as those emulators work. Unfortunately there are one or two different instructions out there but I know I've installed the cIOS correctly. I've tried beta 52 and 53 in all three slots 249 250 and 251 (one guy even recommended a fourth, but it didn't fix,) with the correct settings of 56 57 58 and something like 635535 (a similar looking number for the bottom setting just as instructed by EVERYONE including yourself.... but to no avail.) I know I have everything right here based on what you and everyone is saying and even tried multiple times those same installations as well as different installations and then the recommended again, making sure to overwrite the old cIOS settings when trying something not necessarily recommended. Again, nothing fixed issue.

    In another post you said try setting the loader settings to the same as the game viewer settings or something like that and if that doesn't fix it then the HDD isn't compatible, I tried it just like you said in the other post, setting the loader settings to be the same thing (58 or something like that...) I don't remember but I know I followed your instruction exactly... setting the viewer and loader to the same thing since I could view the files and seem like i could play them but then get black screened and back to main menu, again- it didn't fix it.

    Maybe you can't use SSD HDD's in which case you've been calling SSD HDDs flash drives for no reason; I doubt that. The last thing for me to try is a non SSD HDD (or I guess- another SSD....) using the same or whatever similar and recommended Y USB cable to power said HD unless I'm forced to somehow use an external power supply if using a regular HDD in order to power it, in which case I will do that HDD. I have again formatted the drive fat32, it has 1 partition, the settings are set to 1 partition in Wii too. It appears that emulators (such as SNES,) will work fine although I haven't yet tried a game I must admit... but it does show up as a channel on the main page due to the "channel-adder" thing, which I also have with your USB Loader (at least the version we are talking about, I'm sure ...) despite the fact that I never launch USB loader via the channel and only via homebrew loader due to your instructions in one thread. Just in case, anyway. It doesn't seem to be making a difference but just in case. I've tried at least 20-25 different games (mostly common, some smaller, some larger, some 3rd party, some 1st party...) and have 178 games on the drive to try, none of them have worked but again they show up just like the OP says and appear they are going to work until trying to play the game "Pressing Start" creates a black screen for 20 seconds, then main homebrew menu. Just to be clear I did all this after success with jailbreak using letterbomb with correct mac address and homebrew, etc, and correct cIOS installation. I don't know exactly how ALL this works but have a background in development... anyway, Bootmii might be installed but I'm just not sure. I highly doubt that has anything to do with it since I have a working homebrew channel and likely working emulators in Nintendont/S9X SNES emulator. I haven't actually tried any Gamecube games yet though, or SNES games. SNES certainly appears like I can play it and shows up in channel list, just like Wii games that then goto black screen when you press start despite the audio and video working prior to that on all 178 games intro screens. I've also tried most US games as I live in the US, but I've tried foreign games as well. All have the same issue. Most settings are default unless instructed otherwise.

    Do I need to waste my money on another HDD, is there a fix or what's the deal? Is changing over to (I think there's some alternate way to install this using a diff USB loader?) worth it instead? Please, please help, I have the same problem as everyone else (many threads all end of April 2020,) and nothing you have recommended besides a new HD (which I haven't tried yet, besides an SSD,...) fixes it so far... especially considering it can view the games, so how can the SSD not be compatible? It's just when it goes to play them.. screen goes black for ~20 seconds then back to main menu of some type. I am not denying there is a way it can be incompatible, there may certainly be a way- I don't deny my pretty new... but not brand-new SSD might not be compatible. but why not? How? Are we sure that's the issue even though it can view the games and considering I changed the loader to the same as the viewer or w/e u recommended and then it stopped letting me even see the games as if they appear they can be played? Again, HD is FAT32, 1 partition for sure. I used a special program for formatting it that I used for the switch because it was finicky before using this special program. It's called disc disk doctor or something. I also still have a SD card plugged in... from the beginning instructions for jailbreak and for all that stuff ... it's still in there and lock is not on...

    Please, please help! Anyone. Mr. @Cyan too- if you can. Thank you very much. I believe running 4.3 when started at least?
     
    Last edited by Kagami-san, Jun 1, 2020
  6. jeannotte

    jeannotte GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    3,122
    Country:
    France
    Hello ,

    post a syscheck report here ==>https://gbatemp.net/threads/posting-a-system-check.300279/

    RECOMMEND ==> external hard drive in FAT 32
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  7. Sven_s05

    Sven_s05 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2021
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Austria
    have you already tried to plug the hdd into the inner usb port, then it says waiting for hdd, press b select hdd settings and usb port!1!. that worked for me
    hope that helps :/
     
  8. Darienzz

    Darienzz Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2021
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Did you ever fix this been have this problem for weeks too I can’t load in a few games and it’s been driving me crazy thanks please help!!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - loading, Loader, screen