Gaming URGENT Windows 8 help required

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Hey guys, just got Windows 8 consumer version and I installed it onto a seperate partition on my SSD, now I can't get back to Windows 7, freaking out here, I don't get the graphical interface that others see and system properties startup and recovery is telling me only windows 8... Please help guys, I don't have current access to my Windows 7 disk, what can I do?
 

FireGrey

Undercover Admin
Member
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,921
Trophies
1
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
1,262
Country
It's as simple as using a Windows 7 repair disc to go into command prompt to type:
bootrec.exe /fixboot
bootrec.exe /fixmbr
But that will get rid of windows 8 on your boot list.
For me it dual booted perfectly fine, but I'm using a HDD.
If you want to keep both of them use a program such as EasyBCD to add Windows 7 to the boot list.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Will a torrented repair disc work? Currently getting one now (Never made one *Facepalm*) from a torrent site. Hoping it will work, will burn with something afterwards.
 

Wiip™

Worth a penny.
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
The Netherlands
XP
176
Country
Download and Install EasyBCD*->Edit Boot Menu->Set your default to Windows 7 and select 'Wait for user selection'->Save settings->Restart.


*You don't have to fill in your name and email.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Download and Install EasyBCD*->Edit Boot Menu->Set your default to Windows 7 and select 'Wait for user selection'->Save settings->Restart.


*You don't have to fill in your name and email.
Cash? Lol, I would if I had the ability, ofcourse I can always use google to find a working crack for it...
 

Wiip™

Worth a penny.
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
The Netherlands
XP
176
Country
Download and Install EasyBCD*->Edit Boot Menu->Set your default to Windows 7 and select 'Wait for user selection'->Save settings->Restart.


*You don't have to fill in your name and email.
Cash? Lol, I would if I had the ability, ofcourse I can always use google to find a working crack for it...
Scroll down lol. Or click on CNET or something.
 

Rydian

Resident Furvert™
Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
27,880
Trophies
0
Age
35
Location
Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
Website
rydian.net
XP
8,930
Country
United States
14e2gyf.png
 

DinohScene

Gay twink catboy
Global Moderator
Joined
Oct 11, 2011
Messages
22,146
Trophies
4
Location
Восторг
XP
20,344
Country
Antarctica
Clean install of win7.

Just delete the all the partitions and select the unallocated space.
It will create a new 100MB sysreserve partition and the remaining space for the OS + data

Scrap that, I've read it completely wrong.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Download and Install EasyBCD*->Edit Boot Menu->Set your default to Windows 7 and select 'Wait for user selection'->Save settings->Restart.


*You don't have to fill in your name and email.
Cash? Lol, I would if I had the ability, ofcourse I can always use google to find a working crack for it...
Scroll down lol. Or click on CNET or something.
xD
Blind, probably cause I'm annoyed that it didn't dual boot properly, perhaps because it's on an SSD...
 

Wiip™

Worth a penny.
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
The Netherlands
XP
176
Country
Download and Install EasyBCD*->Edit Boot Menu->Set your default to Windows 7 and select 'Wait for user selection'->Save settings->Restart.


*You don't have to fill in your name and email.
Cash? Lol, I would if I had the ability, ofcourse I can always use google to find a working crack for it...
Scroll down lol. Or click on CNET or something.
xD
Blind, probably cause I'm annoyed that it didn't dual boot properly, perhaps because it's on an SSD...
Okay, I hope it works for you. ;)
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Windows 7 is not in the boot menu, just Windows 8 consumer preview... Files for Windows 7 are still there though...
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Windows 7 is not in the boot menu, just Windows 8 consumer preview... Files for Windows 7 are still there though...
Did you use the setup.exe to install all the files on a USB/Burn on a CD/DVD?
For Windows 7? As far as I know, yeah...

Edit: Will the Windows 7 recovery disc work for this?
 

Wiip™

Worth a penny.
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
The Netherlands
XP
176
Country
Windows 7 is not in the boot menu, just Windows 8 consumer preview... Files for Windows 7 are still there though...
Did you use the setup.exe to install all the files on a USB/Burn on a CD/DVD?
For Windows 7? As far as I know, yeah...

Edit: Will the Windows 7 recovery disc work for this?
If you still have all the files, you should do a clean win7 install.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Windows 7 is not in the boot menu, just Windows 8 consumer preview... Files for Windows 7 are still there though...
Did you use the setup.exe to install all the files on a USB/Burn on a CD/DVD?
For Windows 7? As far as I know, yeah...

Edit: Will the Windows 7 recovery disc work for this?
If you still have all the files, you should do a clean win7 install.
I don't have the Windows 7 installation disc atm...
 

Wiip™

Worth a penny.
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
The Netherlands
XP
176
Country
Try adding a new bootloader entry,

EasyBCD->Add New Entry->Select the correct drive and name->Add entry.

After that,
Edit Boot Menu->Set your default to Windows 7 and select 'Wait for user selection'->Save settings->Restart.

If this doesn't work, you probably messed up the installing process.
 

gifi4

How am I a 'New Member'?
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
2,350
Trophies
0
Age
26
Location
Melbourne
XP
693
Country
Thank you all. Back on Windows 7... Wiip, your suggestion to add the entry was what worked, but I did it twice, the first time, apparently it didn't save the settings and booted to Windows 8, the second time, it gave me the option of Windows 8/7. Thanks again!
 

Wiip™

Worth a penny.
Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
208
Trophies
0
Age
29
Location
The Netherlands
XP
176
Country
Thank you all. Back on Windows 7... Wiip, your suggestion to add the entry was what worked, but I did it twice, the first time, apparently it didn't save the settings and booted to Windows 8, the second time, it gave me the option of Windows 8/7. Thanks again!
You're Welcome.
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
    K3N1 @ K3N1: https://youtube.com/shorts/ZKBs7smCDlA?feature=share