Upgrading the SD card for the 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by Izzy, Aug 11, 2011.

Aug 11, 2011

Upgrading the SD card for the 3DS by Izzy at 8:34 AM (1,266 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Izzy
    OP

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    Heya.

    Both me and my GF got a Toshiba 2 GB SD-card with our 3DS.
    We're both thinking about upgrading to a 16 or even 32 GB to be safe with space.
    However, is it just about copying over everything from the original 2 GB to the new card, or is it going to be problems with licenses with stuff bought from the eShop etc?
    If it is as simple as just plugging in both cards in my computer and just transfering them of right away then I'm buying one for sure.

    I don't want guesses here, I want people who's got a source for their claim or that they've done it themself.
    Much appreciated, thanks!

    /Izzy
     
  2. zizer

    Member zizer GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2010
    Messages:
    2,035
    Country:
    you can do it (don't worry)
     
  3. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using a 4gb card, sure just copy everything from your current card to the new one.
     
  4. Izzy
    OP

    Member Izzy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Sweden
    Thanks alot, and them I'm assuming that all the licenses for which games you've bought etc are all on the 3DS itself, built in Memory or something. [​IMG]
    Thanks alot! [​IMG]
     
  5. kenjixx

    Newcomer kenjixx Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    Malaysia
    am using a 16gb sd card..
    you can just copy everything and paste into the new sd card
     
  6. Weaselpipe

    Member Weaselpipe Erratic Temp user

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Location:
    Somewhere Else
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm using the 8gb from inside my works digital camera. You can back up the memory stick onto your computer, just in case!
     
  7. Icealote

    Member Icealote My Winter...

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2008
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    Sydney
    Country:
    Australia
    Got a similar question like Izzy, let's say I get a 32gb with class 10, would that work on the 3DS with the files transferred? Is there a limit to the space and speed of the memory card for the 3DS?
     
  8. klim28

    Member klim28 Hunter4Life

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Location:
    LocLac village...
    Country:
    Philippines

Share This Page