Upgrading computer

Discussion in 'Computer Hardware, Devices and Accessories' started by BiscuitCookie, Jan 11, 2009.

Jan 11, 2009

Upgrading computer by BiscuitCookie at 8:08 PM (1,511 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. BiscuitCookie
    OP

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well my mother bought a computer (packard bell) and I wan't to upgrade it.
    with these things:

    PSU:??? 115watt
    to
    PSU: Cooler Master Real Power M520 Watt

    CPU: Intel Pentium dual core E2140
    to
    CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400
    with cooler: Arctic-Cooling Freezer 7 Pro

    it has an intergrated videocard- Nvidia GeForce 705 NForce 610i
    and I want to place on the PCIe slot a NVidia GTX260 Black edition

    It also hass 3 GB memory of wich 8xx mb shared
    and it runs vista
    I use it for gaming

    just asking if this is a good choise? if I could do something better? or something won't work?
     
  2. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Quite some bucks you seem to be spending over there.

    Just recommended some hardware to someone (with a large budget [​IMG]). Basic idea:

    AMD Phenom X4 9950 black edition
    Asus M3A32-MVP Deluxe/WiFi-AP
    Cooler Master RealPower M620
    And a 4870 to boot naturally
    Oh and don;t forget 4 gigs of ram (make sure you are capable of setting your ram in dual channel, gives some performance boost 4 free [​IMG])

    Your rig comes pretty close though [​IMG].

    Personally I'd buy a 4850 though, more bang 4 buck and won;t feel so sorry when I replace it [​IMG]. Also I went with Intel due to the mainboard and OSX. Aside from that the AMD is def. more bang 4 buck. The mainboard is pretty expensive though, you could get a cheaper one especially seeing as you seem to have no problem with onboard graphs in there.
     
  3. BiscuitCookie
    OP

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well i'll be paying around 490 euro
    and i'm upgrading a existing computer so I have to stay with intel
    and I don't want to completely empty my computer and place something in it just a new psu cpu and gpu
     
  4. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    wow, they are still making packard bell computers?
    havnt seen one since the early 90's

    anyway first thing you are gonna want to check is if the case conforms to todays standards and not custom built like many pre-built computers today
     
  5. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Does that thing even support better processors? That'd be the first thing I'd wonder.

    btw, why the cpu cooler? If you want to OC make sure the motherboard supports it! If not there is no reason to get the alt. cooler, aside from possibly being less noisy.
    also check if it'll fit [​IMG].
     
  6. BiscuitCookie
    OP

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    the cooler that's is delivered with the processor is crap so i get a better and the case doesn't have a fan
     
  7. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Stock cooler should work fine, but the alt. cooler will work fine too as long as it fits [​IMG].

    Anyway do you know if your new proc. is supported by the motherboard (was the same system as you have also available with the processor you've bought now?)? If not (unlike AMDs) the system simply won't boot (possibly not giving you POST messages even).
     
  8. BiscuitCookie
    OP

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It's a denver 10 mobo and according to packard (and the internet) it supports all intel duo, 2quad and so on processors

    Is the coolermaster 520 watt psu enough for this, because on the nvidia site it says that the gtx260 needs a minimum of 500 watt
     
  9. Scorpei

    Member Scorpei GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,295
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Depends on the rail setup, of which I am not too sure. Also not too sure about how much A the GTX260 wants.

    AFAIK it should be allright.
     
  10. Acheron

    Newcomer Acheron Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2008
    Messages:
    42
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    A single GTX260 will not draw anywhere near 500 watts (it will draw approx. 180-200 watts). So yes a Coolermaster 520M PSU should be more than enough, they just recommend 500 as a fail safe.

    As above, its more about the rail setup/amperage than watts, and with a good quality PSU you shouldn't have a problem with either. Coolermaster are generally a well trusted brand and make a quality PSU for an entry level price. I highly recommend the Corsair HX series PSU's myself, love my HX620. You could probably find a Corsair HX520 PSU for a similar price to the Coolermaster 520M if you look around.
     
  11. BiscuitCookie
    OP

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I watched around and the cooler master i choose is 30 euro cheaper than the 520 watt corsair
    So is the difference between quality that big of a difference that I should go for the corsair?
    Corsair CMPSU-550VX is 85 euro maybe that's a good choise?
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,192
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    depends on which cooler master it is
    do you have the model number?
    some are very good, while other models are just trash

    corsair is pretty much top notch
     
  13. BiscuitCookie
    OP

    Member BiscuitCookie GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    330
    Location:
    Netherlands, Gelderland
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Cooler Master Real Power M520; 69 euro
    Corsair CMPSU-520HX; 99 euro
    Corsair CMPSU-550VX; 86 euro

    btw i'm thinking about placing 4 gb ram on the mobo but don't want to install a 64bits os
    and the mobo only has 2 ram slots so i can't place 3 gb
     

Share This Page