1. britain4

OP britain4 GBAtemp Fan

Hey guys,

I have been reading up on this but there's a lot of conflicting info out there and I'm fairly new to the Switch so just wanted to be sure.

My Switch is running an SX Core chip with both sysnand and emunand running 10.1.0.

If I wanted to update the sysnand - can I do this through the Nintendo online update when booted into sysnand?

If I do this would I also need to update the emunand due to fuses (using choidujour etc) or does SX OS with the SX Core ignore the fuses or something?

2. shinwg

shinwg GBAtemp Fan

United States
    Yes u can update normally using Nintendo on sysnand. The emunand u have to use 3rd party apps to update

britain4 likes this.
  3. britain4

OP britain4 GBAtemp Fan

Nice thank you - if I update the sysnand that way will the emunand still function on a lower firmware or would I need to update both at the same time?

4. mesmeriize

mesmeriize Advanced Member
    Newcomer

United States
    Don't update emunand or cfw emunand won't work. You have to wait for sx 3.0.5 first. You can update sysnand but ofw boot on sx start up screen won't work. You have to click options then nand then genuine boot to start up sysnand. That will be fixed in new 3.0.5 update.

If you want to play online, update sysnand now then wait for 3.0.5 sx, install that then you can update emunand if you want. You only need to update emunand for newer games released after today that require latest firmware so you don't need to worry about that for now. If you update sysnand but keep emunand on 10.1, everything will work fine, just go to genuine boot to start sysnand

Last edited by mesmeriize, Sep 16, 2020
    scandal_uk and britain4 like this.
  5. britain4

OP britain4 GBAtemp Fan

That's awesome thank you - couldn't find a definitive answer to that anywhere. The plan for now would be to update sysnand so I can play online and I won't touch emunand until a game needs the update.

6. thaikhoa

thaikhoa GBAtemp Addict