1. TiMeBoMb4u2

    OP TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Country:
    United States
    I skimmed, briefly, but I didn't see a thread discussing URLs to block to prevent Switch updates. Do we know yet?
     
  2. Sonic Angel Knight

    Sonic Angel Knight GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2016
    Messages:
    13,971
    Country:
    United States
    Why would we want to block updates? Is on version 2.0.0, like since day one, and all the important stuff that is supposed to be coming with releases has yet to come. I'm just curious why is of interest so early. :unsure:
     
    jpx86 likes this.
  3. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5,837
    Country:
    United States
    Because in the case a hacker says to ever says "STAY ON 2.0!" people want to ensure they stay on 2.0 by blocking updates.
     
  4. RemixDeluxe

    RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4,583
    Country:
    United States
    Do you ask for car insurance after the car accident?
     
    Dr.Hacknik, TiMeBoMb4u2 and xtheman like this.
  5. TiMeBoMb4u2

    OP TiMeBoMb4u2 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,550
    Country:
    United States
    The scene/community is already researching and working on entry points and exploits for 2.0.0. Since we have NO clue what a new update will contain, but we're pretty-sure N-tendo is watching, we can safely assume that any patch at this point will work against the current research.
     
    spotanjo3 likes this.
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    23,355
    Country:
    France
    use a proxy, or wireshark, and see which URL is triggered when checking for updates.
    there's probably more than one URL, but the first one will be to get data to know if a new update is available (it might also be the same than game updates availability, for example on WiiU it's Tagaya's server to check for game+console updates, and cdn to download it).

    the firmware file will probably be located on another server. someone with a non-updated switch will have to check the url.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Mar 27, 2017
    peteruk likes this.
  7. AecdArmy

    AecdArmy Biscuit#0001
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    505
    Country:
    Australia
  8. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    All I got so far...

    NOTE: These URLs are encrypted hence port 443. Some consumer routers do not let you enter a port in your blocking interface you may have to use HTTPS:// instead.

    http://aqua.hac.lp1.d4c.nintendo.net:443
    http://receive-lp1.dg.srv.nintendo.net:443
    http://bcat-data-lp1.cdn.nintendo.net:443
    http://bcat-list-lp1.cdn.nintendo.net:443
    http://tagaya.hac.lp1.eshop.nintendo.net:443
    http://dauth-lp1.ndas.srv.nintendo.net:443

    EDIT: URLs related to eshop, how did google get in there those sneaky buggers!

    http://bugyo.hac.lp1.eshop.nintendo.net:443
    http://accounts.nintendo.com:443
    http://www.google-analytics.com:443
    http://ecs-lp1.hac.shop.nintendo.net:443

    Update Server: Block This URL!

    http://sun.hac.lp1.d4c.nintendo.net:443
     
    Last edited by Mr. Wizard, Mar 30, 2017
    yahoo and RemixDeluxe like this.
  9. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I got the system update, even while blocking those sites
     
  10. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    Then you didn't block them.

    I can confirm if you block this one:

    http://sun.hac.lp1.d4c.nintendo.net:443

    You will not get the update nag or be able to access update server. Everything else functions fine.

    You will have to restart once blocking in order to get rid of the nag.
     
  11. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I blocked them on my router. P.s every time i put it in on my router with http://(adress here) it claims its a invalid. So I trimmed out the http://
    EDIT:still not working I verified and check. I'm using block sites and set it to always. so I honestly don't see what I'm doing wrong.
     
    Last edited Mar 29, 2017
  12. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    idk, works fine for me and others as well. Your problem is either the router, PEBKAC, or ID-10T. /s

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by Mr. Wizard, Mar 29, 2017
  13. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    If you use DNSwitch the updates will be blocked
     
  14. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    try *nintendo.net or *.nintendo.net, and does your router have a site AND a url block setting?
     
  15. Bladexdsl
    This message by Bladexdsl has been removed from public view by Issac, Mar 29, 2017, Reason: Rude, bickering or reply of either.
    Mar 29, 2017
  16. Mr. Wizard
    This message by Mr. Wizard has been removed from public view by Issac, Mar 29, 2017, Reason: Rude, bickering or reply of either.
    Mar 29, 2017
  17. Bladexdsl
    This message by Bladexdsl has been removed from public view by Issac, Mar 29, 2017, Reason: Rude, bickering or reply of either.
    Mar 29, 2017
  18. Kourin
    This message by Kourin has been removed from public view by Issac, Mar 29, 2017, Reason: Rude, bickering or reply of either.
    Mar 29, 2017
  19. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    As I was trying to explain, if you are using a "site" blocker I believe it's meant to block the entire site, my old router had 2 options, block entire site or block urls. If you are entering a url into a site block interface I don't think it will work, you have to enter the core domain (eg nintendo.net) with no prefix.

    If you router has a url blocking page then you can enter the exact url in there. If not you can set up fiddler proxy to block just the urls you want to block, draw back of that is it has to be running in order for you to access other stuff like friends and eshop etc.

    As it stands right now all you need to block is:

    http://sun.hac.lp1.d4c.nintendo.net:443

    You can also set your dns to a server that blocks them for you.

    One server is 205.166.76.187 as per this thread:

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/dns-to-block-the-updates-of-the-switch.465952/
     
  20. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    I set the dns. that worked. and my router does allow siteblocking. In fact I used it to block wiiu updates with no problems. but those addresses you gave just don't work. SO IDK. But funny enough the switch forgets updates apon powering off. (assuming you just accidently downloaded them and not installed them)
     
  21. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    I'm sorry but it's confirmed working. It seems to be your router that's not working. If all else fails just change your dns server to the one in that thread.

    205.166.76.187

     
  22. Alkéryn

    Alkéryn Moon Dweller ~
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,664
    Country:
    France
    Wait does the switch auto update ?
    haven't bought mine yet
     
  23. Mr. Wizard

    Mr. Wizard Ending the spread of bullshit one thread at a time
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,814
    Country:
    Canada
    There is an auto-update setting that you can enable/disable.
     
    Alkéryn likes this.
  24. Dr.Hacknik

    Dr.Hacknik Ashley | Developer | Trans
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2014
    Messages:
    1,773
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you're not using a DNS server; IE OpenDNS. Google DNS may work though.

    I find it funny, that there is a Auto Update option. When with the 3DS, and Wii U; it shoves an update down your throat.
     
    Last edited by Dr.Hacknik, Mar 30, 2017
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Update, Blocks,