Underlying Wii behaviour

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Dogway, Sep 19, 2010.

Sep 19, 2010

Underlying Wii behaviour by Dogway at 5:34 PM (4,202 Views / 0 Likes) 40 replies

  1. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    OK, this is different.
    I have 3 friends with hacked wii, and me, 2 of them have older versions, and the other 2 (included mine) are new. Here comes the funny thing: The older Wiis can run GB, and GBC games with VBAGX smoothly, the other 2 are kinda choppy. I cant run SDL-mame(the original) 0.125, one friend with the old one CAN. This leads me to think about a new failure that ocurred me yesterday, I cant run GC backups with wiikey (as noted here), I can even load to first game screen with the studio logo, then it freezes. So what in earth is happening underneath? what makes my wii different from my friend's? I thought it was exclusively and only the D3-2 drive.

    I have looked for people with these same issues, but I didnt find anybody. Let's disclosure this! : P
     


  2. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Sounds like an IOS version issue.

    You should run SysCheck on all of them, and compare the reports.
     
  3. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    I have passed Syscheck, but anyways pointing out the most simple example like the VBAGX one, shouldnt just they report the necessary/optimal IOS on their official release webpage, or in the readme.txt? However I haven't find anything related to this, so it shouldnt be an IOS issue. Maybe the internal libraries or something I dont know/understand about...(?)
     
  4. harmor

    Member harmor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    420
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure all emulators use cIOS249.
    The only way I know off the bat to see what revision of cIOS249 and what base you used is to use Configurable USB Loader.
    I'm sure there are other programs that'll tell you but I don't know what they would be.

    Compare the revision number (ex: rev19) and the base (ex: IOS 38) with the other two Wiis.
     
  5. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    Its cIOS249 rev.17. Dont know the base, I do have CFG Loader, how do I check the base? btw my friends have if not the same, older revisions than 17 of 249, it would be somewhat akward to think that the latest VBAGXs work better with old revisions.
     
  6. snikerz

    Member snikerz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2008
    Messages:
    501
    Country:
    Liechtenstein
    lol no.
     
  7. burritoboy9984

    Member burritoboy9984 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    845
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, you are helpful... Fwiw, tantric's emulators use ios58... The others are probably using ios202...

    -Erik
     
  8. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Actually, emulators should use whatever your HBC is currently running on (you can check that by pressing home in the HBC, it should be written in the upper left corner), unless they're specifically programmed to reload into another IOS.
     
  9. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    my HBC says IOS61 v19.26. But that's system menu's IOS. So then 58 or 61? and how these system menu IOS relates to graphics performance?
     
  10. raulpica

    Supervisor raulpica With your drill, thrust to the sky!

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,657
    Location:
    _____________ PowerLevel: 9001
    Country:
    Italy
    Older Wiis might even still be using IOS36. That'd be worthy to check.

    If the Wiis are using different versions and or even different IOSes fro HBC, they might have slightly different behaviors, which could range from slowdowns to random crashing.
     
  11. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    IOS has nothing to do with graphics at all. The obvious thing to check would be the video mode settings.
     
  12. rAiN mAn 2o0o

    Member rAiN mAn 2o0o GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    United States
    like dude said check to see if it is set on filtered or unfiltered and whether or not hq2x is on or off... hq2x slows a lot of games down on wii.. they look better.. just choppy.. (pc becaue of more power doesn't have this problem)

    as far as SDL MAME goes... check to see fit he versions of are the same.. older version of it looks like shit.
     
  13. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    You mean base IOS36 for what cIOS? I would like to know how to know the base of my cIOS, and cMIOS versions. A more complete analysis than syscheck does.
     
  14. tueidj

    Member tueidj I R Expert

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,569
    Country:
    I was talking about the system video settings, 480i vs 576i vs 480p.
     
  15. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    Its unlikely. One of the working old wiis from a friend is plugged like mine, composite. I believe 576i (480i looks horrible, at least on PAL TVs)
     
  16. petspeed

    Member petspeed GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    482
    Country:
    Denmark
    You wrote earlier you have cIOSr17 installed. You can't choose base for cIOS earlier than r18 so no need to check.
     
  17. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Roms being played off DVD, SD or USB?

    Media might make a difference.
     
  18. raschi

    Newcomer raschi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Norway
    576i will give you choppy emulator playback. Using PAL roms will in most cases also give you choppy playback. Games are optimized for 60Hz.
     
  19. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    the storage media wont make a bit of difference while you are playing a rom. the entire rom is loaded into memory before the game starts, with the exception of huge ones like certain n64 games.

    i say either it is a video mode setting slike already mentioned, or you are trying to compare different games on different wiis which makes your comparison shitty. vba-gx has certain games that lag or dont play properly, no matter who's wii you are using
     
  20. Dogway
    OP

    Member Dogway GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    Spain
    @petspeed: Maybe I couldn't choose base, but do you know what base was used then for rev.17?

    Well, all of us play off the SD (same SD brand&model). Roms are the same, because I gave them to dem. And this same friend has 576i, but hims works. And GameBoy choppy? Its not Color, Advance or anything. Its the simple old Dark&Light green GB. I recall testing with both Super Mario Land and TMNT. I can ask him again, or test it on his console by myself. But maybe just to confirm what I have just said.

    This has to be related with cIOS or internal Wii instructions or something...
     

Share This Page