Trouble loading Rock Band 2 on 3.2E

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by NiCK_TM, Jan 4, 2009.

Jan 4, 2009
  1. NiCK_TM
    OP

    Newcomer NiCK_TM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    So it's not often I obtain backups of NTSC games since I have a PAL Wii and I can usually wait for the PAL release. Rock Band 2 got the better of me ever since I heard it was compatible with the GH:WT instruments.

    When I place the game in the Wii drive it isn't recognised at by the Wii and I'm greeted with the Wii disk and the GC disk flying off screen and a question mark appearing.

    I'm assuming it has something to do with running an NTSC game on 3.2E considering that I use Verbatim DVD-R's which have worked for every other game I have burnt.

    My Wii has not been hacked for homebrew, mainly because I am happy just playing Wii games on it and my Wiikey seems to handle the task perfectly. (until now)

    Any help would be appreciated though I would prefer not to have to update my Wii and I play a lot of GH customs and I've heard they don't work with updated consoles.

    Thanks.

    Edit: I forgot to mention I have tried both with and without brickblocker, still same result.
     
  2. darkangel5000

    Member darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Unna, ~Dortmund :3
    Country:
    Germany
    Were you trying the scrubbed-version? If yes, then get the untouched release, because it's been said that the scrubbed one doesn't work.
     
  3. NiCK_TM
    OP

    Newcomer NiCK_TM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    As far as I know it wasn't scrubbed. It came in 45, 100mb rar files which I'm assuming is the full iso. Also, the place I got it from had many positive replies saying that it worked perfectly, that's one of the reasons I believe my Wii is the problem.
     
  4. darkangel5000

    Member darkangel5000 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    355
    Location:
    Unna, ~Dortmund :3
    Country:
    Germany
    Have you already tried RegionFrii? (http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php?title=RegionFrii)
     
  5. NiCK_TM
    OP

    Newcomer NiCK_TM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    I'll give it a try now, as I say I'm pretty new to playing games from other regions and assumed brickblocker was all that was required, I'll get back to you on whether it works in a sec. Thanks for the quick and helpful reply too.

    EDIT: Works perfectly, thanks for all your help.
     
  6. Kenan_UK

    Newcomer Kenan_UK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry for bumping this thread people, but I got the same problem.

    I hope the RegionFrii works x).

    EDIT: It didn't work. CDs flew off the screen and question mark as usual ]:
     
  7. NiCK_TM
    OP

    Newcomer NiCK_TM Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm not sure if I'm suffering from a bad burn (I plan to reburn later) but I often get the disks flying off the screen even using my region frii'd copy, it can sometimes take as many as 10 attempts before the disk is recognized. Perhaps you should try it a few times Kenan_UK, although it's probably just a bad burn on my part.
     
  8. Kenan_UK

    Newcomer Kenan_UK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I appreciate your advice NiCK. I will give it a go as soon as I have access to my Wii [​IMG]

    Didn't work ]: Tried it atleast 15 times.
     

Share This Page