Trouble burning iso's

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Bloodgharm, Mar 27, 2012.

Mar 27, 2012

Trouble burning iso's by Bloodgharm at 10:52 AM (825 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    hello, i am having trouble burning iso's for my ps2.
    It has a modchip installed and i know it can read disks fine as my friend let me borrow another copied game to test it with.
    I have tried burning several differant iso's on both imgburn and nero 9 but it only let me write at 2x speed.
    both programs say the disc burnt fine but when i put it into the ps2 it just loads the menu (browser, system configuration) and if i click browser i am told "disc could not be read".

    Thanks
     
  2. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you useing DVD-R ? after burning can you open the disc in windows ?
     
  3. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    yes and yes
     
  4. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Are you sure its a mod chip and not Free_McBootv1.8b?
     
  5. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    pretty sure, i'm greeted with an infinity screen when i turn it on and i can play backup games without a memory card in.
     
  6. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Well you might want to try a different brand of DVD then if it reads your friends games fine.
     
  7. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    would the fact that its only burning at 2x affect it at all?
     
  8. cobleman

    Member cobleman GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,449
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    It is very slow i had a burner like that so i replaced it. It might go faster on other things but burning iso's should take around 5 to 10 minutes max now days not half an hour like it sounds your burning at.
     
  9. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm burning ps2 stuff as well.
    Far as I know, the slower the better..
    What brand of DVD-R do you use?
    try using Verbatim or Phillips, something like that.
    don't try cheap stuff like Mediarange or brandless discs, those are a pain in the..
     
  10. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    Im using Databank dvd-r 8x
    but when i put the disk in imgburn tells me the only write speed supported by the disk is 2x and after it burns the ps2 wont read it.
    Also on dvd pack it says ps2 and xbox games look great on it.
     
  11. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hmm, I never ever heard of the brand ''databank'' (I can't find it even on google, or on any webshop where I usually get my dvds :blink: )
    All I can guess is that either the data is corrupt, or u need better quality dvds (I dunno about databank, but since i cannot find it, i guess it is something like ''Mediarange'')

    Your best is going for a Verbatim DVD-R disc, every game that i burn on those always work the way they should. (I usually burn at 4 speed to make sure you won't get any issues in the game, but lower then 4 should work also no problem)
     
  12. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    yeah i bought it from this little store near me that specialised in blank dvds, my friend reccomended the brand. i guess it might be the disks thats the problem, either that or my burner. Ill take them back and swap it for verbatim.
    if they dont have verbatim any other good brands for ps2 games?
     
  13. Eighteen

    Member Eighteen GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2009
    Messages:
    846
    Location:
    Yeah..
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes, Phillips and Sony will do nicely too (I use phillips)
     
  14. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    I use Sony DVD-Rs and burn at either 4x or 8x with imgburn myself. Had no problem loading any games, although it's using ESR and not a modchip.
     
  15. Bloodgharm
    OP

    Newcomer Bloodgharm Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Australia
    problem solved. It wasn't the discs, i gave one to my friend to see if he could burn it and it worked fine which means it's my burner (which is another problem in itself but oh well).
     

Share This Page