Touch Screen replacement

Discussion in 'NDS - Flashcarts and Accessories' started by DarkMario616, Mar 25, 2010.

Mar 25, 2010
  1. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I watched a video and saw it wasn't difficult at all, except one part.

    THE RIBBON CABLE.

    When I took my DS to put on a new shell, I was like holy crap that's a small clip/ribbon, and I thought my hands/fingers were too big for this kind of job.

    Has anybody done a touch screen replacement and mind helping me with the clipping/ribbon crap in the future? I'm just not sure if I should try it or not [I have the replacement already] (her touch screen is fine but half it is calibrated, the other half is screwed up by like 10 pixels to the left, re-calibrating does nothing).

    Advice please :3?
     
  2. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    Be really REALLY careful. I have messed up the ribbon on both a DS lite and DSi

    The original ribbons are so thin they break easily. The ones I bought from DX are better in quality of ribbon.

    All you have to do is make sure the ribbon is inserted and slowly push it in. You'll feel that it's secured in it and then just close the latch
     
  3. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    That's the thing, how did you push it in? I fear my fingers will be too ig, is it okay to use the flathead or will that ruin it >_>?
     
  4. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    I may be getting a replacement touchscreen and case soon. If you think your fingers are too big (mine most likely are as well) maybe tweezers will work?
     
  5. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Oh yah tweezers, sounds good.
     
  6. aphirst

    Member aphirst "Aren't girls with pee-pees just men?"

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    317
    Location:
    Augsburg
    Country:
    Germany
    Be damn careful with those tweezers. If you can get some really soft-ended plastic ones, do. I knackered one ribbon cable with some metal tweezers, thinking the same as you guys.
     
  7. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Baww, I might not do it then lol, I might though...hmmm.
     
  8. Sicklyboy

    Global Moderator Sicklyboy Resident Mechanical Keyboard Addict

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    5,620
    Location:
    [̲̅$̲̅(̲̅ ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for that word of caution then. I suppose I won't use tweezers in that case... maybe just hope my fat fingers will work
     
  9. BlackDave

    Member BlackDave Official GBATemp "Cleanup Guy"

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Messages:
    913
    Location:
    The Promised Land...
    Country:
    United States
    I have big fingers and I think they would do better job than tweezers because the skin is softer, just push it gently.
     

Share This Page