Tips for the "Disc Channel"

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by AbdallahTerro, Feb 18, 2012.

Feb 18, 2012
  1. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,977
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Bored of getting "System menu files are corrupted" when trying to load a backup wii game.
    I'm not an expert but what will follow should probably work 95% of the time and will make many people happy.
    If this doesn't work for you go, don't pannic. Just go and buy the original disc or wait until a better solution is available.
    Sorry no links here but all is available in this forum..Just search or google.

    PLEASE: Be very cautious while attempting the following and preferably have several ways of Brick protection if anything goes wrong.

    Do this at your own risk.

    1. Prerequisite: softmodded wii with priiloader installed
    2. latest Hacks for priiloader
    3. D2x IOS - tried with D2xv8 Beta Rev41 but any other one should also do the trick
    4. Any backup wii game
    5. For GC Backups use any cMios (Recommended wanincocov10 or wiiGator v4)

    The setup:
    Load priiloder Block online & Disc updates first
    select Settings>Use system menu IOS>off - IOS to use for SM>249
    then go to system menu hacks> set: region free wii games and region free GC games to enabled
    then Force disc games to run under ios 249 to enabled
    then Force Disc region to wii region can be on or off (depending on the disc you're loading)

    Now throw any disc in here you go.

    Issue: the only thing you might need from now on is to change setting for "Force Disc region to wii region"

    Hopes for the future: Priiloader devs can fix above issue
    Make one Disc Channel hack that can do all of the above or force the disc channel to start a dol such as neogamma autoboot.

    NEW Priiloader Hack Available Boots Neogamma channel for both Wii and GC games from "Disc Channel"
    http://gbatemp.net/topic/321110-poc-boot-neogamma-via-disc-channel/
    10000x cooler than using these tips. thanks damysteryman for the hard work

    Hope this was useful
    Abz
     
    1 person likes this.


  2. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    That's not great advice, especially the part about region free. You are just slowing down boot times and causing system instability.
     
  3. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    You forgot a few very important things. First of all: FFS, make sure to mention that you should enable priiloader's hack to block disc and online updates!!!
    Honestly: I'm stressing this because using 249 as system menu may brick it if someone accidentally updates their wii (official updates will stub 249, so if the system menu itself isn't updated as well...you can guess the rest).
    EDIT: proven wrong by JoostinOnline. Sorry about that.

    Second: you need a wii with a drive that can run backup discs, so anything bought after mid 2009 simply fails (as well as the ones that went through nintendo repair since then).

    Third: any wii game? No. If you knew anything about cIOS'es, it's that they come in different base IOS'es because no single IOS or cIOS plays all games. At best, whatever you install in slot 249 plays about 95% of the games flawless. The rest will have minor or major issues.

    Fourth: force disc region to wii region isn't going to do you much good if you're trying to play a PAL-only game on a television that can't display PAL signals. While there are only roughly a handfull of those games, they're certainly there. It's just showing your ignorance on the issue that you think that priiloader can fix that.

    I'm not sure that that "make one disc channel hack" remark is supposed to mean, but there's already a thread for that and is busy being developped. At least a link would have been nice.


    Fifth: for "tips and settings", you're providing an embarrassing little amount of links, knowhow or even insight (see previous points). What you're posting is misleading, lacks understanding and future proofing (why would d2xv8 beta41 be preferable over other version? Is that even a proper release, or are you just tossing out the current latest version?). So...sorry if this sounds offensive, but please...don't share tips and settings like this. At best, you'll have only confused end users asking questions. But I fear you'll cause bricks and unneeded confusion.
     
  4. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    All good points except the part about the stub. During the boot process, the SM IOS loads, then Priiloader, (optionally) a new IOS, and then the rest of the System Menu. I did a bunch of tests on the issue just so it would be on record:
    http://www.hacksden.com/showthread.php/1266-Using-a-different-IOS-will-not-save-Priiloader!
     
  5. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I see. That makes sense. So in my described "doom scenario" where it would stub 249 yet leave the hacked menu alone, it would still boot. It'll load the (correct) SM IOS which loads priiloader. Which tries to load 249, fails, and mentions that (leaving you safe in priiloader to load things like bootmii or the HBC to fix things). Assuming this train of thought is correct...that's good to know. :)
     
  6. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it gives an error if the custom IOS is a stub.
     
  7. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    ... Then what were cIOS CORP and DARKCORP for? Was preloader not around then?
     
  8. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Take a look at Wever's post. The above is bad advice.
     
  9. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,977
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    First post edited. Thanks to the experts for their advices.
     
  10. DeadlyFoez

    Member DeadlyFoez Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,224
    Country:
    United States
    I always hate it when we have to teach someone everything they need to know so they can write up a guide and we still have to correct all their mistakes :glare:
     
  11. wii knee

    Member wii knee GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2009
    Messages:
    200
    Country:
    United States
    To those of you who have been following this author's posts aren't likely too surprised by this 'guide'. I pitty the nubes who take this and his future gems as gospel.
     
  12. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,977
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    This is not a guide. Just some tips.
    I hate it when some people don't read the post title and description.
    Your picture is scary - not that I am scared.
    Only some info was missing.
    You didn't correct anything.
     
  13. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,127
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    It's mostly before my wii hacking time, but my guess is that cIOScorp had better compatibility for games back then (it replaces every IOS with a custom counterpart, so obviously about 30-40 different cIOSes easily beats one single one). USB loading came a bit later, so people considered it the more clean solution, even though it only looked clean on the surface (your wii accepts backup discs just like regular ones, so why need a loader to begin with?).

    @[member='AbdallahTerro']: you clearly don't get it. I know a few things that go on under the hood of the wii, yes. That doesn't make me an expert (fuck...I even made a mistake in my previous post). Most of my explanations are applied logic, combined with basic understandings of the wii (which I mostly got from reading posts and a few simple sites like the complete softmod guide or basic articles on wiibrew). I would consider that to be the very minimum if you want to try to help others who struggle with things.

    And for your info: I did read the post title, and I did read the description. And I disagree. It's not a tip if it isn't helping someone. And though I honestly believe you are trying to do so...it isn't helping. Sorry.

    Helping people isn't easy (and I should know, 'cause it's my job). If you don't have sufficient knowledge, things may become a gamble whether it's helping or not. And even if you do have sufficient knowledge, you'll have to put up with others who miss important things because they lack that same knowhow.

    I really hope next time, you take the time and effort to learn more before sharing insight that you think may be tips. I applaud that you at least try to help others. And I hope you're not going to take it personally...but I'm going to ask this thread to be closed. I don't like being misquoted (will probably work 95% of the time? Really?).


    Oh, and for the record: DeadlyFoez IS an expert on the wii. I have no doubt he could have written exactly the same as me or Joostin (and with more technical stuff mixed in if he wanted to).
     
  14. DJPlace

    Member DJPlace P!ssed OFF Pyscho of GBA!!

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,486
    Country:
    United States
    woah woah woah i have to step in here to say something about disc loading. if you use darkcorps like the wrong way you could brick your wii so make sure to make a back up of your nand through

    boot mii. even through i'm use to disk loading (yes i'm a money waster) i first started on it on dreamcast and i could never could go to usb loading.i would love to but... it's going cost me money to

    get a 1.5tb hard drive for all my games... also i heard that getting those rock band/guitar hero/just dance songs on a usb drive are a pain in the ass to get them to run so there are some good

    things about disk loading and bad. so keep that in mind and here's my thoughts

    Good:it lets you play almost all wii games through back ups. (only reason i'm saying is almost is cause some 1 game gave me problem for online)
    Bad: If your an idiot and turn off your wii during darkcorps install your going brick your wii and also your wii laser get's more used.

    so if anyone want's to bitch to me about usb loading is better. that's fine with me i'm just saying disk loading is my way of life.

    and to TC.

    do a little reseach before making topics like these even noobs would get confused by this and come here and bitch at you for mis leading info.
     
  15. AbdallahTerro
    OP

    Member AbdallahTerro da KiNG

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    5,977
    Location:
    Ideas factory :)
    Country:
    Lebanon
    Thanks Wever I really appreciate your advice.
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Using base 56 runs pretty much every game, but that wasn't an option until 4.2. Base 38 was the standard before that, and it couldn't run games with peripherals. DarkCorp always used the correct IOS giving it far better compatibility.
     
  17. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Not always. I distinctly remember that it installed duplicates of certain IOS in place of others. So there were some IOS that simply were not present on a Wii infected with DarkCrap, in addition to every IOS being patched a ridiculous amount, and generally the whole thing being pathetic.
     
  18. SickPuppy

    Member SickPuppy New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,661
    Country:
    United States
    If you are having the disc channel autoboot Neogamma, wouldn't it just be easier to install a Neogamma forwarder? Why does the disc channel need to do what a forwarder already does? And, you may want to check which cMIOS is recommended for use with Neogamma, I could be wrong but I think that Wiipower says NOT to use waninkoko's cMIOS.
     
    1 person likes this.
  19. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So that the forwarder channel for NeoGamma has the banner of the inserted disc displayed correctly, rather than a custom banner regardless of the inserted disc.
     
  20. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    I'd forgotten about that, but still it was more reliable that using IOS38 for every single game.
     

Share This Page