This Moonshell thing seems a tad too complex

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Shinigami Kiba, Mar 18, 2009.

  1. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I get it, I'm supposed to copy moonshell.nds and the moonshell2 folder to the root of my card, but what about this misctools folder? Where do I copy those so they work?

    Also do I HAVE to put the .nds file in the root of the card, can't I just put it in my \programs\ folder?

    I have an AceKard 2
     
  2. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    You ignore everything else. Just copy moonshl.nds and the moonshl2 folder into the root and run. The rest is fluff.
     
  3. calebh

    Newcomer calebh Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    29
    Location:
    Evil Lair
    Country:
    United States
    After you put it on your flash card, if you want to change the language, open the language selector exe.
     
  4. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    yeah but I want all the extra fluff, where do I put those? Do I just copy the misctolls folder to the moonshel2 folder or is there something I have to do to install those misctools?
    I'd give it a try myself, but this damn AceKard 2 is a bitch to remove and then put back in, it takes a couple tries for it to fit in properly and for the DS to read it, other than that it's awesome.
     
  5. jaybud4

    Newcomer jaybud4 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Misctools is stuff for the PC, not the DS.
     
  6. kirby145

    Newcomer kirby145 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    United States
    its just moonshell2.nds and /moonshell2

    Still trying to get the dang beta to work for me on ak2
     
  7. MizuhoChan

    Member MizuhoChan GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Can the latest be integrated into R4's multimedia button?
     
  8. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Just rename it to _moonshl.nds and it'll run. You can basically do that with any NDS file to assign it to the media button.
     
  9. player1244

    Newcomer player1244 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No, it's _DS_MSHL.NDS, not _moonshl.nds.

    Or does it work with _moonshl.nds too?

    Edit: Nope, doesnt work. Just rename moonshell to _DS_MSHL.NDS and it will work. Have a nice day ^^
     
  10. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Moonshell it aweosme but it doesn't boot games, just homebrew from what I can tell.
    Is there a way to make moonshell be the default menu for my AceKard 2 and make it boot games and everything?

    It's so much better, smoother and more polished than the AceKard 2 default menu
     
  11. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    Mods delete this post it was a double post, somethin' messed up
     
  12. nutella

    Member nutella Low Glycemic Index

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,097
    Location:
    Your nearest supermarket
    Country:
    Australia
    No, you can't but that's not the point of it. Its for media and launching homebrew.
     
  13. Shinigami Kiba
    OP

    Member Shinigami Kiba GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    606
    Country:
    Macedonia, The Former Yugoslav Republic of
    I see, well the AckeKard team should update the OS/Menu thing to be more like Moonshell [​IMG]
    I should see if I can do some skins for that thing, I remember making some neat skins for PogoShell for the GBA back in the day, I even uploaded them to that one site we had for that stuff here.

    yeah I've been here since 2002, some moron from LL stole my old account...kinda and then started posting BS with it here.

    Well thanks for the info man
     

Share This Page