The Dolphin

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by jazvdb, Sep 22, 2009.

Sep 22, 2009

The Dolphin by jazvdb at 12:54 PM (2,883 Views / 0 Likes) 19 replies

  1. jazvdb
    OP

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    I probably dont knw what im talking about.... but anyways

    And those who dont know what im talking about... Just search “dolphin emulator”


    how far do u think this emulator will go? I mean, seriously, it emulates the wii and is actually able to play some retail games AND its resolution can go up to 720p...
    That is some major achievment.. Do u possibly think, in the future, this will outdo th wii (maybe)

    Does this show that the Wii is ”weak”?

    Also last thing, is it possible to make the wii go hd, by just messing with software, or is it a hardaware thing?
     
  2. King Of Chaos

    Member King Of Chaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    You'd need a pretty good PC to achieve reasonable framerates. Probably cheaper just to buy the Wii! [​IMG]
     
  3. drmarvin

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    HD for the console is a hardware issue. There is no way to make the console HD with the existing hardware. From what I understand, as with any emulation, you need a far more powerful computer than the actual hardware to make it effective. Lets be honest, if you want a Wii now, you might as well pick one up for $200 now.
     
  4. Maz7006

    Member Maz7006 iSEXu

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,622
    Country:
    Lebanon
    I get pretty good fps with a core 2 duo 2.3GHZ 3GB RAM and a 8800GT 512mb

    and trust me, its more than playable

    i do admit that wii games are slightly choppy sometimes, but Gamecube emulation is bang on the spot.

    but considering the price drop of the wii, there is no more reason not to own one...still no wii here [​IMG]
     
  5. King Of Chaos

    Member King Of Chaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    Well, the main issue with Dolphin for most people is; Super Smash Bros Brawl will crash at random and you can only use the PAL version of the game.
     
  6. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,352
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    wrong section and which do you think i would prefer?
    play wii games on a 21" computer moniter OR a 60" plasma. ???
     
  7. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    I am trying all games first on Dolphin b4 burning them... so I am using the emu on my Mac Pro(8 Core, 2,9Ghz, 2Gb Ram, Nvidia Geforce 8800GT 512 Mb Ram) and I have to say its not perfect, possibly one need a 1,5Gb GFX and 8 Gb Ram to operate it like a real Wii...

    But for testing if the game is working or not, its ok.
     
  8. synt4x_3rr0r

    Newcomer synt4x_3rr0r Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2007
    Messages:
    33
    Country:
    Sweden
    Why is this so bad?
     
  9. drmarvin

    Member drmarvin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    309
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    These days, if you have the right vid card (most have DVI ( and TV's do too)), you can play on your 60" plasma too.
     
  10. King Of Chaos

    Member King Of Chaos GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Country:
    United States
    Because there's a bunch of people who downloaded the NTSC version only to find out that it's not supported by Dolphin. Even with the PAL version it's not easy getting full speed.
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    It's bad for people like me who have a legit copy of Barlw that I was able to easily rip with a USB Loader, only to find that I'd have to somehow acquire a PAL version instead. If at all possible I'd rather not spend the time downloading something that big.
     
  12. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    No, because when they made the emulator most of the Wii hardware ressembled the Gamecube hardware so they already had a head start cause they were already working on a GC emulator
     
  13. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,352
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    so your warlock now? [​IMG]
     
  14. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,604
    Country:
    France
    On my computer (Core i7 975 Extreme + 8GB DDR3 12800Mhz + SLI Nvidia GTX260), all supported Wii games run at full speed with Dolphin and in HD =)
     
  15. luigiman1928

    Newcomer luigiman1928 Most original Custom Title

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Location:
    sd_Doomsday
    Country:
    United States
    Anybody who's Dolphin is slow. Your computor Sucks. ( No offense) Here are some tips to help your Dolphin work like a boss. Try and enable Dual Core ( if your Cpu has dual core like mine) Always check for updates on the Emulator. Chanes are theres a better one that emulates waay better. TURN OFF SOUND. I always have to turn off sound when playing my games around my Family (TV).
    If any of these tips have already been post, too bad. You were reminded. And Keylogger: Nice. [​IMG] *gives High-Five*
     
  16. jazvdb
    OP

    Member jazvdb GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    835
    Location:
    In front of computer...
    Country:
    United States
    So people actually use the dolphin here?
     
  17. Blue Zoidberg

    Member Blue Zoidberg GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    253
    Location:
    USA, that big island near Cuba
    Country:
    United States
    I remember this back when it was just a gamecube emulator; glad to see it's alive and kicking (like a mule)
    Next step is finding a way to port it to Xbox 360 or PS 3 [​IMG]
     
  18. Social0

    Member Social0 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    528
    Country:
    Belgium
  19. bdr9

    Member bdr9 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    558
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, that's higher than the original resolution.
     
  20. zlac

    Newcomer zlac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    Croatia
    Yeah, and Metroid Prime looks AMAZING on 42" Full HD LCD TV, too bad it still has slowdowns (quad core 3.0GHz and 8800GT, few moths ago, maybe it's fine now, dunno)...

    not my picture(s), but take a look at them! [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    HD brawl and zelda with 4xAA:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Now only if someone would make a Wii hack where games look after this (after you solder some stuff in and dip it all in liquid nitrogen)
     

Share This Page