The Definitive vWii Hacking Guide!

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by CJB100, May 9, 2016.

  1. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    19,181
    9,330
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    just backup and restore, but if you don't even remember what it is, why keep a backup of something you don't know and didn't try?
    to be safe, backup and restore after you launched hackmii installer.

    what you can do if you don't want to launch a random homebrew : check the size or CRC against hackmii installer's boot.elf file, it's maybe identical.
     
  2. Askam

    Askam Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    1
    Dec 11, 2017
    Brazil
    Hello guys, I have my Wii U 5.5.2 hacking by Haxchi and my vWii with HBC installed (these one a long time ago) and everything works great on both system.

    I can play Wii and GC game by USB Loader GX (and Nintendont) on vWi and VC and Wii U titles by Haxchi CFW =)

    But.... something really strange happening theses days when I try manager my wads on vWii mode using YWMM.

    The homebrew works fine and I can browser by folders and files, but when I access any directory with some .wad file inside, I got the ERROR "exception dsi occurred" AND EVERYTHING freeze... just pull the power cable restart my console.

    Anyone has any clue what I can do to fix it?

    Today, I did again all steps on this tutorial (except the HBC installing itself) and reinstall all cIOS and IOS 236 one more time (overwriting the old ones) and the problem remain. I already have some wad installed on my vWii, like Final Fantasy and Zelda titles (cuz like I said, my vWii is hacking since HCB installing method 2 was the only available) and theses "old installed" channels (wads) working fine today, with no problem.

    The only thing I can't do is manager ANY .wad file by ANY wad manager homebrew.

    :cry::cry::cry:
     
    Last edited by Askam, Dec 11, 2017
  3. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    19,181
    9,330
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    maybe one of the wad file is bad/corrupted.

    did you try cutting your folder's content in two folders.
    see if you can access one of the two.
    if one work, the problem is in the other one, cut in half again etc.

    try this manager :
    https://github.com/FIX94/Some-YAWMM-Mod
    it's another mod of another mod :P
    this one is from Fix94 and is based on an older version with new/different features than the one you are using. maybe it has different bug fixed.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Dec 11, 2017
    Askam likes this.
  4. Askam

    Askam Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    1
    Dec 11, 2017
    Brazil
    Dude, you save my life lol

    This "another mod" works!!!

    Thank you so much!
     
    Cyan likes this.
  5. themyst

    themyst GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    132
    13
    Mar 5, 2008
    United States
    Hi, I am trying to find a workaround to avoid installing E-Shop wads to the internal NAND of my Wii U, instead would like to install them to my SD card (launching them with Wiiflow).

    I found the following thread regarding this (below), but when I try to extract the NAND, it crashes my vWii and states there is no partition. I would like to avoid installing games to the internal NAND due such limited space. Any help would be appreciated.

    https://gbatemp.net/threads/how-to-run-vc-wiiware-wads-off-an-sd-card-in-vwii-mode.340143/
     
  6. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    19,181
    9,330
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    which "guide" are you following from this thread?
    which post number? the second one from Asper?
    it's not the best guide, missing lot of information and setup.

    I would suggest you first familiarize with what emuNAND is, and how it's working here:
    https://gbatemp.net/posts/6592730

    the guide would be based on USBLoaderGX, but I'm sure it can be adapted to Wiiflow if you know its interface enough (to find corresponding menus and buttons).
    don't follow the "neek" part for now, just use the "cIOS emuNAND".

    Your issue is probably your setup, you need this :
    1. cIOS d2x v10 r52 (NOT r53 !!!! STOP FOLLOWING BAD GUIDES. R53 does NOT work with emuNAND) <-- probably your problem
    2. HDD formatted as MBR, not GPT
    3. HDD partition formatted as FAT32, 32k/cluster as first partition.

    doing that will put all chances on your side.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Dec 19, 2017
    themyst likes this.
  7. Justin20020

    Justin20020 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    644
    121
    Jun 22, 2015
    Germany
    Need help with Zelda SS. I set up very correctly the hbc and installed all cioses. But if I try to start Zelda SS via USB stick, it will only show a black screen and it freeze. I bought a Wii remote + but I cant play the game and I don't know how to fix it
     
  8. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    19,181
    9,330
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    did you setup the d2x correctly ?
    d2x v10 r52 (not r53!) with base 56 and 57 ?

    did you see once (since you bought the console) the "wiimote + video" which explain how to use wiimote+ ?

    did you enable (even inadvertently because you don't understand what it does) the option to save the savegame to SD card instead of the console's memory ?
    that option make the game freeze. "emuNAND save" does not work with zelda.
     
  9. Justin20020

    Justin20020 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    644
    121
    Jun 22, 2015
    Germany
    Yes and I did it twice. And nope, I didn‘t saw it. And I didn‘t find this option. Can you give me the path to it?
     
  10. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    19,181
    9,330
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    this video should display automatically by any game using wiimotion+
    this video is displayed only once, then the console store a setting to not display it anymore if already watched.
    maybe this is a related issue.

    so, we will force the display of the video.

    Go to USBLoaderGX > zelda > option > alt dol
    in the alt dol, click until you see a new menu, or it let you choose another option (probably the line just below), or choose "pick at launch" that will work too.
    you need to choose "video.dol" or something like that from the menu which let you choose which dol to launch.

    launch the game, it will play the wiimote+ video. (it's long, and you can't skip)
    when it's completed, exit the game, go back to the settings, and disable alt dol option.
    try launching the game again.



    For the emuNAND option it's either :
    settings > loader settings > emuNAND save : OFF
    or
    zelda > option > game option > emuNAND save : OFF



    Another cause could be you are forcing NTSC video while you are using a PAL console and PAL game?
    set "disc default" as video mode to use the video signal based on the game's region you play.
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Dec 22, 2017
    Justin20020 likes this.
  11. Justin20020

    Justin20020 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    644
    121
    Jun 22, 2015
    Germany
    Thanks, I will try all options out when I‘m home in 4 days. I wish you very christmas :)
     
  12. Tyzrk

    Tyzrk Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Mar 9, 2008
    United States
    I used Bootice to format my external drive to FAT32. But when I did, it no longer showed up as a drive in My Computer. It still shows in device manager, saying that the device is working properly, but under Events it says that the device was not migrated "due to partial or ambiguous match." Assigning a drive letter in Bootice did not help. Can someone please assist with this issue? Sorry if this was addressed before, I tried searching up this issue on both Google and this forum's search function but was not able to find anything.
     
  13. Cyan

    Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Global Moderator
    19,181
    9,330
    Oct 27, 2002
    France
    Engine room, learning
    I never used bootice.
    you seems to know where to check the device (in the device manager? you can see the drive, partitions etc.)
    see if you can create a new partition from this place.

    or you can also use easeus partition manager to format the drive and create only one single fat32 partition.
    just be sure you use MBR (not GPT).
    unless you drive is bigger than 2TB, then you'll need GPT but not all homebrew will work with GPT.

    so, to resume :
    the drive should use MBR partition table type, or GPT if MBR is not possible.
    create a new partition on it (if possible taking all the drive's space).
    then format to FAT32. If windows doesn't let you format to FAT32 (because windows is stupid) you can use this program :
    http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/index.htm?guiformat.htm
     
    Last edited by Cyan, Dec 25, 2017
  14. Justin20020

    Justin20020 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    644
    121
    Jun 22, 2015
    Germany
    So yesterday, I used a clean wii rom of skyward sword. After playing, we shut the wii u down. Today, if I want to start the game, it only shows a black screen. I tried to set the alt dol to off but nothing changed

    -edit-

    Alright I triggered it. After the game plays from itself the wm+ video, I was to force to play it again with the alt dol. after this, I disabled the alt dol and now it starts fine
     
    Last edited by Justin20020, Dec 27, 2017
  15. filipe_m

    filipe_m Member

    Newcomer
    42
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Portugal
    A few years ago i hack my vWii. Now i have a Wii (not vWii) from a friend to hack.

    The procedure is the same i use in vWii?

    Thanks!!
     
  16. Mickyg89

    Mickyg89 Newbie

    Newcomer
    2
    1
    Mar 1, 2017
    i know this has probably been asked many times.

    Do I need a separate hard drive to load vwii games?
    I have a harddrive that currently runs Wii u backups, if I follow this guide and dump my games onto my harddrive will it work with bo th types of games or will I need a separate hard disk to run vwii
     
  17. ChickenFancyPantz

    ChickenFancyPantz Member

    Newcomer
    25
    2
    Oct 26, 2017
    United States
    Do I need to get USB Loader or any of the other choices?
     
  18. filipe_m

    filipe_m Member

    Newcomer
    42
    0
    Jul 20, 2014
    Portugal
    In my friend wii I find what you can see on photos...

    I can play no original games from a CD...

    But there's no USB loader...

    Can I install just USB loader? Is not a vWii...

    I appreciate some help please...


    aa.png bb.png bb.png
     
    Last edited by filipe_m, Jan 4, 2018
  19. neim81094

    neim81094 GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    156
    38
    Jun 15, 2013
    United States
    Hey do you guys know of a way to check to make sure all of the cIOS are up to date on the vWii? Do I just re 'mod' it again to get the latest cIOSs?
     
  20. Afunnyname4

    Afunnyname4 Member

    Newcomer
    14
    0
    Jan 6, 2018
    United States
    Hello I just wanted to ask a question that I'm unsure of, would it be possible to create two partitions using bootice and have one for my files that are on my external hard drive (various things I have saved to work on my pc) and create a second partition to have all of the vwii data like gamecube and wii games saved?