The big 1TB discussion

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by robiul, Apr 3, 2009.

Apr 3, 2009

The big 1TB discussion by robiul at 6:48 PM (3,967 Views / 0 Likes) 33 replies

  1. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    Has anyone manage to get the full 1TB working on the USB loader and none of this partition business, the full 1TB space, reply only if you have.
     


  2. KirovAir

    Member KirovAir Dutch Alcoholic Programmer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2006
    Messages:
    587
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I have. Brand: Toshiba.
     
  3. djbubba2002

    Member djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    Haiti
    yes it works , i went out and got one
    Western Digital
    My Book
    1TB
    Essential Edition usb 2.0

    on sell at walmart for 114.99

    you can play off of it , but you cant dump the games onto it ,, you have to use the wbfs to put the games on it ..
     
  4. JJBro1

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    has anyone been able to dump games onto one?
     
  5. GamerzInc

    Member GamerzInc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2006
    Messages:
    342
    Location:
    Memphis
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Seems impractical to have just for wii storage. You'd never even fill 500GB with wii games. My 1TB WD comes today [​IMG]. Gonna store all my hi-def movies on it.
     
  6. djbubba2002

    Member djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    Haiti
    you cant , becuase it reads up to 512GB , thats it , you can dump them from your computer the hdd, thast how i play mine ..
     
  7. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    so the full 1TB is not viable, even with future updates?


    so how did you manage to get the games on there?
     
  8. ntt4

    Newcomer ntt4 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Country:
    United States
    Mine is partitioned as

    Partition 1 - EFI - 0.20MB
    Partition 2 - Untitled - HFS+ - 700GB
    Partition 3 - WII BACKUP - Fat32 - 300GB
    Partition 4 - free space - ??? MB

    It's a Maxtor Basics HDD
    £79.99
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well as I understand it, you can't dump games to it via the loader itself.
    But if you use the windows application, it will work.
     
  10. Styles420

    Member Styles420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Country:
    United States
    You can't get the full terabyte even on a computer - I have the Western Digital MyBook, and due to the formatting, you only get 931 GB. A true TB would be 1024 GB. But then I think the industry has been a little lax with their definition - they seem to be more than willing to say it's a GB when its only 1000 MB, and to them a MB is only 1000 KB. The higher you go, the more you lose. But it works in their favor - it'd be like the gas stations charging you for a full ten gallons when you only get nine.
     
  11. djbubba2002

    Member djbubba2002 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    832
    Country:
    Haiti
    you to put them on the hdd from your computer

    cd..
    cd..
    cd wbgswin
    c:\wbfswin) wbfs init
    c:\wbfswin) wbfs ls ( shows the hdd ) what games you got on the hdd
    c:\ wbfswin) df ( tells you how much you spce you used.. )
    c:\wbfswin) wbfs add (this is where you put the iso at )
     
  12. robiul
    OP

    Member robiul GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    538
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United States
    lol
     
  13. grandem

    Member grandem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Germany
    How u manage to partition it?

    My Toshiba 1 TB Store alu
    is always shown as one big partition =( On my pc there are two but i cant get it work [​IMG]
     
  14. fogbank

    Member fogbank GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    Actually 1 Terabyte = 1,000 Gigabytes.
    1 Gigabyte = 1,000 Megabytes.

    And yes, due to formatting you only get about 930 gigabytes from a 1 terabyte drive.

    1 Tebibyte = 1,024 Gibibytes.
    1 Gibibyte = 1,024 Mebibytes.

    And so on...

    New definitions were put in place back in '99 I believe. They were developed to differentiate the true SI definitions of kilo, mega, giga, etc.. from the binary usages based on 2, 8, 1024, etc... I still usually think of it the old way though. [​IMG]
     
  15. screamq3

    Member screamq3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    of course you'll fill 1 tb drive i got 2tb full of backups [​IMG]
     
  16. grandem

    Member grandem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Germany
    So its sure that you can never dummmp to a1Tb drive?
     
  17. quantocks

    Newcomer quantocks Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Australia
    you fill the 1TB drive off the computer, the tool on the Wii cannot write to the drive. Only play games from it.
     
  18. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    The usb loader can only dump on partitions from 512GB or smaller
     
  19. grandem

    Member grandem GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Germany
    Yes i know

    I only want to ask if its possible that a newer Version supports 1 Tb or if it isnt because of some Wii components
     
  20. skunk123punk

    Newcomer skunk123punk Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yes but most of the images even if zipped up are 4.5GB, but when the iso is scrubbed the size is often half or even less than half this size.

    Also if you have original games that you want to dump via the Wii to a 1TB hard drive just use a smaller size hard drive to dump the image to, then transfer it to the 1TB drive using one of the Windows WBFS tools.

    Skunk
     

Share This Page