The A Region

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cwstjdenobs, Mar 15, 2009.

Mar 15, 2009

The A Region by cwstjdenobs at 4:38 PM (853 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. cwstjdenobs
    OP

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm working on something I think a few people might find useful and I was wondering if the A region can be used with discs? For example using RXXA00 for any region instead of RXXP00 for PAL and RXXE00 for NTSC. Also is it ok just putting 00 at the end? Thanks in advance
     
  2. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    I don't think it works cause there are differences in an NTSC game and a PAL one
     
  3. cwstjdenobs
    OP

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's not for a game, well not directly. I know that changing from PAL to NTSC doesn't work too well, and that's why Gecko OS and loaders have a force video mode option. I think that's just because PAL has a slightly higher res. Thanks anyhows computerboy
     
  4. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Well the region problems come from 2 different things:
    1. the discID
    An unmodded disc channel only loads games with discIDs from its region. Gecko OS and Gamma look at the discID to determine which video mode to use as default, that's all they do with it. They don't care if the region matches or not.

    2. the video modes
    That's a lot more complicated. If you mod the disc channel to load games from the other region, it's still the question in which video mode you launch them. If it's your region, then you get problems with about 50% of the games, because these games only accept video modes from the region they were made for.
    If you patch the disc to the other region(completely bullshit in my eyes), then the disc channel accepts the disc, but you get the video mode problem with 50% of the games and if you launch the game with a loader, it tries by default to launch the game in the wrong video mode.


    Why do you want to change the discID? If you use a loader, you get the less possible problems without messing with the disc.
     
  5. cwstjdenobs
    OP

    Member cwstjdenobs Sodomy non sapiens

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Location:
    Ankh-Morpork
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm making something work from disc from the disc channel. Well I've already got it working, and right now I'm just tidying things up and making an opening.bnr (That may take ages, I'm not much of an artist). I thought it would be nice to have a unique discID as well as partition name etc

    Well, I guess it would be safer to just set the region code to P/E/whatever depending on region. I'll see if the disc channel accepts A when I've got more discs spare. Thanks a lot WiiPower, much appreciated
     

Share This Page