System menu gone ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by ExToMoRpH, May 19, 2009.

May 19, 2009

System menu gone ? by ExToMoRpH at 3:05 PM (1,913 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. ExToMoRpH
    OP

    Newcomer ExToMoRpH Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Hello,

    A few days ago I walked into a tutorial about installing HBC on System Menu 4.0. The second step was to format the Wii System Memory. After my Wii restarted, preloader menu loaded. If I try to go to the System Menu from preloader, I get the message "Error autobooting systemmenu! Ticket not found!". HBC was also not reachable.

    I used BootMii to reïnstall HBC and I tried to install BootMii. It's only possible to access BootMii from HBC and I can't control BootMii. If I try to move with the power-button nothing happens and if I press the reset-button, you can guess, my Wii restarts.

    I tried to reinstall the System Menu using AnyRegionChanger v1.1 M5, but after I pressed (A) I get the following error: "Error getting setting! -24578, 2, 2, 1, -24578".

    What else can I do to recover my System Menu and what's the reason it's gone ?

    My Wii was running on System Menu 3.2E with Starfall hack. No chip.

    Thanks in advance,

    Marc
     
  2. Richy Freeway

    Member Richy Freeway GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2006
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Eh!?

    What kinda guide tells you to format your Wii?

    If you were on 3.2E then you were in the perfect position to just install HBC, install CIOS and upgrade to 4.0.

    Mental.
     
  3. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    start wad manager in hbc and use it to reinstall the system menu wad. Be sure to use the correct version
    what was the first step? are you on 4.0 now or not?
     
  4. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Ugh... Why on Earth did that tutorial tell you to reformat the system memory? That option should be avoided like the plague for precisely this kind of issue. You see, preloader changes the order of things in your Wii, causing the system menu to be in the range of things that get deleted when you reformat. Go tell that guy to get rid of the formatting step from his guide. It's completely unecessary.
     
  5. ExToMoRpH
    OP

    Newcomer ExToMoRpH Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Witch system menu is best to install and where can I find the WADs ?
     
  6. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    A. Do you have a gamecube controller?
    B. So you installed bootmii as IOS? But you still have the homebrew channel and preloader?

    Gamecube controller d-pad will control bootmii. But why would you want it anyway? Unless you already have a NAND backup it's useless.

    If you can boot to homebrew channel, just use wadmanager 1.4 to reinstall the system menu.

    Here's a system menu 3.2 WAD.

    http://wiinewz.com/forums/health-screens/9...-downloads.html

    If you read the third post he said he provided it. This will uninstall preloader, mind.
     
  7. ExToMoRpH
    OP

    Newcomer ExToMoRpH Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The first step was to backup my Mii people and save games. I'll try to install SM 3.2E and let you know if it worked. Thanks a lot so far.
     
  8. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WAIWAIWAIT A SEC PLEASE!

    If you're not LU64, install bootmii as boot2 first and do a NAND dump. I mean.. you're pretty screwed up right now but at least you have preloader. If that goes wrong you are completely bricked.
     
  9. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    A very good suggestion indeed.
     
  10. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    If I read his post correctly he doesn't have a vulnerable boot1, so he only had BootMii installed as IOS254.
     
  11. Alexrose

    Member Alexrose Untitled

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Messages:
    783
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    He didn't specify whether it was possible. For all we know he could've installed as IOS because he wasn't sure which one to use, yet still has a vunerable boot1. Making sure can't hurt.
     
  12. ExToMoRpH
    OP

    Newcomer ExToMoRpH Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Is it save to install 3.2U instead of 3.2E ? I screwed it far enough [​IMG]

    I tried to Install BootMii at boot2 but I get the message "The installed boot1 prevents a boot2 install (-2)". It is possible to install BootMii as IOS, but I've done that before and can't control it. (don't have a gamecube controller)
     
  13. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You should definitely NOT do that. Reinstalling the system menu will overwrite preloader. A wrong system menu will brick you and without preloader, you have no way of recovering!
    So you really need the 3.2E PAL system menu wad.
     
  14. stevee

    Newcomer stevee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  15. ExToMoRpH
    OP

    Newcomer ExToMoRpH Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thanks, I found a 4.0E and installed it. My Wii is back!!

    Thanks again for all the help!!
     
  16. lajd

    Member lajd GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    United States
    Good to have been resolved. Lesson learned.

    Just curious, which guide was that?
     
  17. ExToMoRpH
    OP

    Newcomer ExToMoRpH Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It was a guide written in dutch. I downloaded it using newsgroups.
     

Share This Page