ROM Hack WIP Symphonic Rain Translation

wwwklopar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
335
Country
Russia
Hello! We are from russian translation group FaceOff! We want to port english and russian translation for such a beautiful novel as Symphonic Rain from PC version, but we are faced with several problems that we cannot solve, so we are looking for help here.
Problems:
1) Font size for Russian translation
2) The distance between the letters for the Russian translation
3) Border of the text field
Most likely all of this data is stored in exefs of rom, because in the PC version it was stored in the .exe game.
Can someone help us with this?

2019050416092700-4949BF6934BECEAC5B9F8C418AA1DE94.jpg 2019050416094600-4949BF6934BECEAC5B9F8C418AA1DE94.jpg 2019050722302500-4949BF6934BECEAC5B9F8C418AA1DE94.jpg 2019050722300500-4949BF6934BECEAC5B9F8C418AA1DE94.jpg
 
Last edited by wwwklopar,

wwwklopar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
335
Country
Russia
Ahh... I messed with title( Sorry for this
Symphonic Rain Translation

We can send all the files with messages. Thanks for attention to the thread.
 
Last edited by wwwklopar,

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,937
Trophies
2
XP
8,485
Country
Poland
Ah, so it was border issue... I was looking to port English translation, but when I checked that it's going out of border, then I was thinking it will need additional break lines and I gave up. :D

I will check tomorrow if I can help with exefs.
Could you write how it was found in exe? It can make searching easier.
 

wwwklopar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
335
Country
Russia
Ah, so it was border issue... I was looking to port English translation, but when I checked that it's going out of border, then I was thinking it will need additional break lines and I gave up. :D

I will check tomorrow if I can help with exefs.
Could you write how it was found in exe? It can make searching easier.
Well... I maybe wrong about boarders because that's first KOGADO novel novel with which i am working. In exe i found only info about font, so maybe your suggestion about additional break lines was correct.
 
  • Like
Reactions: masagrator

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,937
Trophies
2
XP
8,485
Country
Poland
There may be an issue because this texts were made for PC version with smaller font, so on Switch, where is bigger font, it goes out of border. So only solution is changing font size/spacing/other if we don't want to work with changing brake lines - that's my hunch.
So strings were English in exe? Because I don't know Kana or Kanji. :P
 
Last edited by masagrator,

wwwklopar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
335
Country
Russia
There may be an issue because this texts were made for PC version with smaller font, so on Switch, where is bigger font, it goes out of border. So only solution is changing font size/spacing/other if we don't want to work with changing brake lines - that's my hunch.
So strings were English in exe? Because I don't know Kana or Kanji. :P
If i'm not wrong, on english exept font's name.

FontSize = 34\r\n
Font.Charset = SHIFTJIS_CHARSET\r\n
Font.Color = clWindowText\r\n
Font.Height = 34\r\n
Font.Name = 'MS ゴシック'\r\n
Font.Pitch = fpFixed\r\n
Font.Style = []\r\n
Left = 128\r\n
Top = 136\r\n
 
  • Like
Reactions: masagrator

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,937
Trophies
2
XP
8,485
Country
Poland
So exefs doesn't contain any informations about font size etc (or it's hardcoded). I can't help. There are functions for setting font properties, but there are no strings to edit.

Better try to find where is font, because it can't be in exefs (probably bntx textures). If it's the same size for letters, then probably whole font is fixed. Because I see they used Nintendo tools beside SDK to port this, so maybe this game doesn't have much in common with PC release.
 
Last edited by masagrator,
  • Like
Reactions: wwwklopar

wwwklopar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
335
Country
Russia
So exefs doesn't contain any informations about font size etc (or it's hardcoded). I can't help. There are functions for setting font properties, but there are no strings to edit.

Better try to find where is font, because it can't be in exefs (probably bntx textures). If it's the same size for letters, then probably whole font is fixed. Because I see they used Nintendo tools beside SDK to port this, so maybe this game doesn't have much in common with PC release.
Well... This is bad because I have not found any font texture ... Can the game then use the system font?
 

wwwklopar

Active Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 17, 2018
Messages
30
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
335
Country
Russia
Also i think that scripts mustt be reworked, cause they are causing errors during the game, but i don't know how to edit them, because header was changes from times of old .kgo script and Kogado Assembly Tools now not working with them.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,937
Trophies
2
XP
8,485
Country
Poland
If you are interested in porting other English vn translations, then I recommend Dies Irae.
Localization file has the same ToC and text sectors construction as Steam release, but:
1. has more lines and because of that & ToC localization is messed up (and it needs some customization because few audio files are merged/splitted in comparison to PC)
2. text in PC release has UTF-16 LE fixed (all characters have 2 bytes), when Switch release not (Unicode characters under 256 have 1 byte, 256-65535 2 bytes).

It needs someone who can make tool to export and import text (it can be done in python). Game even has working windows debugger in game files. ;)

And it doesn't have issue with no border.
 
Last edited by masagrator,

Meda

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
34
XP
26
Country
Korea, South
I'm sorry to reply to old post.
Is there anyone who knows how to edit the script file of the Kogado studio game?
I can't find a known infomation for the .kgo file...
 

mbombo3

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
12
Country
United Kingdom
I'm sorry to reply to old post.
Is there anyone who knows how to edit the script file of the Kogado studio game?
I can't find a known infomation for the .kgo file...
Hi, I'm also sorry for reviving an old thread, but I open kgo script files in Notepad++ (like a txt file) changing ANSI to UTF-8
 

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,937
Trophies
2
XP
8,485
Country
Poland
Because I don't have anything to do, I went back to this game.
Disassembled fully scr0001.kgo and it seems it doesn't have any info about font size, so executable needs patching.

Game is using class "nn::fontll::ScalableFontEngine", so I guess I need to patch there some stuff.
 

Attachments

  • scr0001.zip
    6.4 KB · Views: 12
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    praise be to gabe
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    It do be quite nice
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    i'll have to be content to play marioland on my BRAND NEW USEFUL FUNCTION MULTI GAME EMBODIED chinese trash
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Great for emulation, and runs PC games better than my GPD Win 3 lol
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Which I suppose I should get rid of at this point
    Gift
  • mthrnite @ mthrnite:
    i keep evertying till it's one big blue piece of battery crust
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Yummy, that's the best part
    Gift
  • Gift
  • gudenau @ gudenau:
    I love how GBATemp randomly
    logs me out.
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    Take the hint, man
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    @Tom Bombadildo, upgrade the SSD init?
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Apparently we have ancestors called Homo erectus
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    It was quite literally the first thing I did with it, never even turned it on with the stock 64GB lol
    Gift
  • Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras:
    And several species of human existed, only sapiens survived
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Nabbed 512GB for like $70
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Ye I see them on eBay for about$60 but all are refurbished can't be that bad to get refurbished ones off eBay
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Plan on getting a m.2 drive and 512gb SD card for roms
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    I've been looking into designing a small casing in the back of it actually, trying to integrate another 2230 M.2 slot along with as small a USB-C dock I can find to sort of make a plug and play M.2->USB expansion myself
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    Expand the storage with faster NVMe, and also have charging and maybe a micro HDMI port
    Gift
  • Tom Bombadildo @ Tom Bombadildo:
    But haven't had a whole lot of time to actually finish anything
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Let me know if you managed anything I've thought about that being possible as well it would be nice to have that and maybe a built in mini HDMI port with 4 usbs
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    But freaking valve pushed my order to July even though I pre-ordered two days after release :angry:
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    I'll review it :tpi:
    Gift
  • KenniesNewName @ KenniesNewName:
    Won't be long before freaking china floods AliExpress with attachments
    Gift
  • smurgburglar @ smurgburglar:
    how do i get rid of or change the text underneath my username?
    Gift
    smurgburglar @ smurgburglar: how do i get rid of or change the text underneath my username?