1. roden

    OP roden GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    Ok guys ill try not to confuse you and myself here...

    I have placed an order for the SX pro, which is still currently Processing, i have a feeling i could be waiting weeks for this and am considering cancelling and going for the the SXOS

    Now, i understand the SXOS key is stored on the dongle if you have gone PRO, this is where it gets awkward.

    I was going to use the dongle myself, and order another SXOS for my kids switch, i understand once activated you can use the dongle on any console.

    So i was thinking of ordering an SXOS to get my console up and running, and using the PRO Licence for the kids console.

    But would this then mean that my console key would be mismatched with the dongle?

    I understand that its an activate once method, and the licence.dat is stored on your SD card, what if you card becomes corrupted, or dies?
    You can reactivate but then if my key is on the dongle only im buggered.

    bit confused?
     
  2. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Austria
    As you said, you can use the dongle on multiple consoles. You only need to have a valid license.dat file corresponding to your console on your micro sd card. So each license.dat file can only be used on the console which it is tied to. To prevent losing your license.dat files, it's the best to make a backup of them and save them on an external device (Computer, USB drive, harddisk,...).
     
  3. Pottsy292

    Pottsy292 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2018
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey man

    This is from team executer

    • Q: Can I buy one SX Pro and one SX OS license separately, and use the dongle and tool with two switches?
      A:
      Yes, you can buy additional SX OS Licenses and use one dongle and tool for all your Switch consoles.
    Source - https://team-xecuter.com/faq-2-xecuter-sx-family/
     
    andijames likes this.
  4. roden

    OP roden GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    But assuming the key is stored in the dongle that one will always be safe as long as i dont loose the dongle :)

    Just would of preferred mine to be the dongle one.

    So IF you loose your licence file, can you recover it again?
     
  5. leonmagnus99

    leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,650
    Country:
    Iraq
    dont want to create a thread, so i will just shoot my simple curious question here.
    i got my tx os code and generated the license dat file.

    is that license file like the most important thing for my switch cfw now?
    like without it i cannot get it to boot into txs cfw?

    and if i were to lose it, could i still generate it again using that same code i got from the email?
     
  6. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Austria
    Yes, without the license.dat file you can't use all features from SX OS anymore. Therefore, I would recommend you to make a backup of it and save it on an external device. As @NeoSlyde mentioned in this post, it seems to be possible to generate a new license.dat file with the code from the email and the license-request.dat file.
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  7. andijames

    andijames GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    428
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why don't you ask these questions in the SX thread?
     
  8. leonmagnus99

    leonmagnus99 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    3,650
    Country:
    Iraq
    thx good to know, btw. is that dat file system based right?
    does it use the system id of my switch to create it ?
    because thats how it only works on one switch at a time right?

    i will now make 10 backups of the dat file just in case xD
     
  9. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Austria
    I don't know exactly which console specific information is stored in the license.dat file. But yeah, that's basically why you can use the file only on one console.
     
    leonmagnus99 likes this.
  10. roden

    OP roden GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    This is what i was trying to ask before, if the key is stored in the dongle? or can you see it?, as i want to use that on mine on not my kids unit?
     
  11. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Austria
    No, you can't just extract the key of the dongle and use it to activate a license on another console.
     
  12. roden

    OP roden GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    Dont think you get what i mean, i meant can you actually see the key and reactivate without the dongle, or is it stored in there unlike a standard os key so you cant actualy do it manually, if thats the case id rather keep the dongle for my device and not the kids.
     
  13. TooEazyy_-

    TooEazyy_- Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    44
    Country:
    United States
    If I buy the pro, is there anyway to get sent the license for the OS and get the dongle separately? I’m not that patient :/
    If not I’ll just get the OS

    (Sorry for the thread hijack, I didn’t want to make another thread)
     
  14. pLaYeR^^

    pLaYeR^^ Doctor Switch
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2014
    Messages:
    3,116
    Country:
    Austria
    Afaik you can't see it.
    No you can't, the key is included in the dongle.
     
    Last edited by pLaYeR^^, Jun 22, 2018
    TooEazyy_- likes this.
  15. roden

    OP roden GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
  16. HippoDan

    HippoDan Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2018
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    Similar question here. If I use the license included in the dongle am I stuck booting from the dongle forever, or once activated can I boot from the phone or computer instead? If I would be stuck with the dongle I may go software only.

    Thanks.
     
  17. lanmake22

    lanmake22 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2020
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Mali
    my activation file and code is lose
    can i provide the switchID to retrieve the activation file again

    Sorry for my english as it is not my native language.Thanks alot.
    Please help me
    I don't have that much money to buy one
     
  18. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    13,514
    Country:
    United States
    The dongle just contains the SX Loader .bin file. The license will always be on the SD card whether you bought SX Pro or OS.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - question,