Hacking Suggestion Switch V2 (Mariko) not booting after Sx core clone

kenshin_himura

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
14
Country
Japan
After waiting 6 months searching here and there I found the SX Core Clone and couldn't wait to solder it on my V2 switch.

The joints were super messy but the chip showed green light and it booted the bootloader. I couldn't care less if the joints were good enough or not as it was booting with green light and as every noob would do, quickly assembled my switch to install CFW.

In docked mode, I was playing breathe of the wild on my CFW, continued from where I left it on OFW. Everything was nice and dandy but after 1 hour or so, the switch suddenly stopped and my tv was showing no signal.
I unplugged it from the dock, tried pressing the power button to boot but from the sound grill, I could see it was showing red light from the chip.

So to fix it, I decided to put the NAND Chip back to its original place and see it boots. It didn't.
Next, I thought of redoing the solder joints from scratch, removing them cleaning the solder, and resoldering them.

And then the worst-case happened chipped the SP2 CAPACITOR.

Now I have a broken switch after wasting loads of money.

What are my chances now?
Any kind of advice or suggestion would be greatly appreciated.
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 5.30.33 AM.png
    Screen Shot 2021-08-29 at 5.30.33 AM.png
    2.5 MB · Views: 145

Nerdtendo

Your friendly neighborhood idiot
Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2016
Messages
1,654
Trophies
1
XP
3,501
Country
United States
I broke a cap on mine. I wasn't skilled enough to put it back so I hired someone to do it for me, but if you have the skill, just order a new cap and replace it.
 

kenshin_himura

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
14
Country
Japan
I broke a cap on mine. I wasn't skilled enough to put it back so I hired someone to do it for me, but if you have the skill, just order a new cap and replace it.

Thanks for replying.
The problem is that even I am not skilled enough. The whole reason I did it myself was because it is punishable by jailtime to mod a console especially Nintendos, where I live.

Anyways I saw in GBA somewhere that switch does boot without the caps.
I just want it to boot and then I will sell it and then buy a new one to mod.
 

de9ed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
302
Country
Canada
The switch boots without this SP2 cap, your issue is somewhere else.
I can fix it if you are in Canada.
 

kenshin_himura

New Member
OP
Newbie
Joined
Aug 28, 2021
Messages
4
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
14
Country
Japan
The switch boots without this SP2 cap, your issue is somewhere else.
I can fix it if you are in Canada.

I also have somehow shorted all the capacitors
There was no going back from that and out of anger and frustration threw my switch out of the window LITERALLY.
Today bought a new switch and a good microscope.
I was doing good with the soldering until I joined 3 Caps from the left side. I don't know how it happened and started panicking.
But after a few hours of cleaning the solder, I was able to save this switch but not the flex cable.

Thank you for trying to help me but I live in Japan and it's totally illegal to mod consoles here. There were some cases where repair shops would report to the cops when someone brought modded switches to fix.
Do you know where (online) I can buy a v2 flex cable only?
 

de9ed

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 22, 2020
Messages
156
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
302
Country
Canada
I also have somehow shorted all the capacitors
There was no going back from that and out of anger and frustration threw my switch out of the window LITERALLY.
Today bought a new switch and a good microscope.
I was doing good with the soldering until I joined 3 Caps from the left side. I don't know how it happened and started panicking.
But after a few hours of cleaning the solder, I was able to save this switch but not the flex cable.

Thank you for trying to help me but I live in Japan and it's totally illegal to mod consoles here. There were some cases where repair shops would report to the cops when someone brought modded switches to fix.
Do you know where (online) I can buy a v2 flex cable only?

You would have to talk to the seller in China. I have extra v2 cable but you are quite far
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    @Julie_Pilgrim "very bright" is essentially pure white
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    pure white doesn't show up all that much it's mainly when looking at a bright sky
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and if the clouds in the sky have slightly less definition to them because i turned on the contrast enhancer who cares
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    that's not important
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i can't tell the difference
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but i can certainly tell the difference with black crush if i'm watching a scifi movie and i can't see wtf is going on
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Human vision is logarithmic, it's not linear. And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness. OLED'S look brighter then LCD's even when both are set to the same nit values because of the higher contrast ratio on OLED's
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's have a 3D look
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Charging port is more likely to fry up or battery fail before the display tbh lol
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "And nits doesn't tell the whole story of perceived brightness" it's not about perceived brightness it's about all HDR content in TV and movies being mastered for 1000 nits so it doesn't look right with anything lower, it's also about dynamic range
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    "OLED's have a 3D look" no they don't lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    As an owner of a OLED and you saying that you never seen an OLED I think I know what I'm talking about lol. I'm not talking about 3D as in 3D glasses. I'm talking about depth and pop in the picture
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    I mean to be fair og vitas are still kicking and not many have suffered from pixel bleed and they're going on nearly 10 years
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    OLED's can get away with a lower peak brightness and still provide punchy HDR because of their contrast ratio. Like I said human vision is logarithmic. The higher the peak brightness the diminishing returns in perceived brightness.
    Gift
  • kenenthk @ kenenthk:
    Just get 5 years enjoyment out of it until Nintendy releases something and everyone forgets about switch games lol
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    @The Real Jdbye Oleds hit around 750 nits nowadays. The difference between a 1000 nit and a 750 nit isn't huge. It's only about a 4% increase in perceived brightness. Not huge at all. You'll need at least 2000 nit displays to notice a bigger difference.
    Gift
  • SG854 @ SG854:
    Read this thread it explains it. 1000 nits is not a huge jump from 750 the LG OLEDs can hit. As I said human vision is non linear.
    +2
    Gift
  • Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    Not exactly 3D but the colors does pops out more
    Gift
  • mr_switch @ mr_switch:
    I just want a true dark mode theme
    for OLED Switch
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    yeah honestly i hate how the only two switch theme options are blinding holy light of god or grey
    Gift
  • El_Doot @ El_Doot:
    Kill eyes OR bore eyes to death
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    switch dark mode is ok i just wish it was a bit darker
    Gift
  • F @ Forseenink3938:
    Can anyone here please help me on how to use TickCrypt 2.0?
    Gift
  • Gift
    kenenthk @ kenenthk: