1. mayushi

    OP mayushi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    Hello, i was so stupid to download and launch the Pokemon lets go Pikachu nsp a couple of days ago which bricked my switch. Since then i try to restore my switch without success.

    My switch was on 6.1. I had an old nand backup from firmware 4.1 which i tried to restore through hekate, after restore i tried to boot fw (sx os, atmosphere,original) which should have worked because it should boot without fuse checks but only got a black screen. i also enabled auto rcm. After trying around a little bit now all i get is a blue screen. If i press the power button, blue screen, if i connect the switch on my pc with usb blue screen, putting into dock, blue screen. And it doesn't go into rcm mode automatically anymore which is very weird because i didnt disable autorcm. If i try to trigger the mode manually it also instantly just goes to the blue screen now.

    Any Steps i can take to restore it or is my switch gone for good?
     
  2. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    United States
    did you update with chidor tool. if you burned fuses then youre out of luck
     
  3. mayushi

    OP mayushi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    Sure? I thought its fine if i boot through hekate because it skips the fuse checks.

    Got into RCM again. The Issue is when i try to boot after restoring my backup it gets stuck at read package2, now i read package2 backup was only included in hekate 3.1 my backup is from 2.3 could that be the issue? if yes is there a way to recover this?
     
    Last edited by mayushi, Nov 19, 2018
  4. FearItSelf23

    FearItSelf23 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2013
    Messages:
    168
    Country:
    United States
    No if you burned the fuses up to 6.1 you can't run a fw lower than 6.1 no matter how you boot the fw. You have to update through chidor to disable the burning of fuses if you want to be able to downgrade. You're sol currently since you've burned fuses to 6.1 you can only boot 6.1. I'm not sure how the brick works, but maybe it's possible to backup the bricked nand and repair it depending on how the brick is accomplished, but since no one has come forward with a fix my guess is that it can't be repaired at least not currently.
     
  5. BL4Z3D247

    BL4Z3D247 GBAtemp Stoner
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1,942
    Country:
    United States
    They can still boot any firmware they want no matter how many fuses they may have burned. If they use Hekate to launch stock or CFW they can use a lower firmware than 6.1.0, it's just the game card slot won't work below 4.x.x.
     
  6. bundat

    bundat ¿
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    438
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Afaik, one of the reasons that blue screen can happen is when you didn't restore BOOT0/1 along with the rawnand.

    If you only have a rawnand backup and no BOOT0/1 backups, you'll need to recreate your BOOT0/1 for the same FW version as your rawnand backup using Rajkosto's ChoiDujour (not NX) guide.
     
  7. mayushi

    OP mayushi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2018
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    Got my switch working again :)
    Restoring my backed up BOOT 1 and BOOT 0 with hekate did not work. Flashing them with Etcher like in the Guide did work and i can boot again.
     
    olive069, Vorde, hms and 1 other person like this.
  8. jakkal

    jakkal GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2,278
    Country:
    United States
    At least you came back and let eveeever know what you did to resolve the issue

    Nothing irks me like "never mind I fixed it, please close thread"
     
    Vorde and BL4Z3D247 like this.
  9. Mekurushi

    Mekurushi Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    hey mayushi, i have the same problem like you can you tell me how you got the switch into RCM?
     
  10. JackbootShaman

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 8, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Same, THIS would REALLY HELP
     
  11. fiveighteen

    fiveighteen Distractible Dabbler
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United States
    Just went through this myself. Finally figured out if you plug the Switch into your PC with USB (the blue screen comes on), then hold power to turn it off, and finally make sure your jig is in all the way and try to enter RCM again, it took. It was failing to enter RCM while unplugged from the PC first.
     
    Last edited by fiveighteen, Jul 1, 2019
  12. asemikey

    asemikey Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I recently encountered a similar issue, although I reached the state of not being able to enter RCM and having a blue screen in a different way.
    I was following a guide to restore back to my very initial boot0/1 and sysnand, which was firmware 3.0.2 when I first got my switch (I cannot post link yet but it is the NH Switch Guide entitled "Restore a NAND backup to the switch")
    I got to the step where I restored the old boot0/1 (3. Navigate to Tools > Restore eMMC. Select Restore eMMC BOOT0 & BOOT1. Wait for this process to complete.)
    Then I realized that I forgot to actually copy the backups I made and kinda got freaked out, so I decided to shut it down and take out the SD and put it in my computer to copy them over (big mistake, I now realize).
    In other words, I never got to the next step (4. In that same menu, select eMMC RAW GPP and wait for the process to complete. This will take a very long time to complete.)
    Now I can't get my switch to even get to RCM... it goes to a uniform blue screen with the same behavior as described in the OP.
    Pretty sure that is because the boot0/1 does not match the sysnand, which I have read about in other threads.
    I had updated to 7.0.1 using ChoiDuJourNX, but the boot0/1 and sysnand that i tried to restore was from my original switch, which was 3.0.2.
    I do not know if any of my fuses were burned.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - bricked, working, anymore