swapping ps3 bluray drive

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by C175R, Jun 26, 2012.

Jun 26, 2012

swapping ps3 bluray drive by C175R at 4:51 AM (884 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    hey guys.
    I have a 80gb PS3(yes, one of the first ones that came out) but sadly my bluray disc drive is broken. it doesn't read any disc nor anything.
    So one of my friends tells me that his PS3 60GB got YLOD and his not planning to fix it nor do anything about it. just buy a new one for him.
    If I get his disc drive will it work on mine? or do i have to get one that its from an 80GB PS3?
     
  2. ben_not_benny

    Member ben_not_benny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Just buy and install a new laser module that corresponds to your model. They're like $20-30 on various websites.

    I don't recommend you direct swapping drives because each drive (with the exception of the newest PS3 Slims starting from CECH-25xx) have its own logic board so that they only work on the PS3 they're "married" to. Plus your friend's PS3 could have a module that's different from yours and may or may not work properly.

    You can remarry drives to another PS3 using homebrew but you must be on an exploitable firmware (under 3.55) to do that.
     
  3. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    my ps3(80GB) is on kmeaw 3.55. but my friends PS3(60GB) is not.
     
  4. ben_not_benny

    Member ben_not_benny GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    174
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Here's some documentation on remarrying if you are interested: http://www.ps3devwiki.com/wiki/Remarry_Bluray_Drive
    As the entire process is quite long and technical don't attempt anything unless you know exactly what you're doing.

    You can also just swap the laser modules between both PS3s if they are the same.
     
  5. C175R
    OP

    Member C175R GBAtemp Pirate

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    662
    Country:
    United States
    thanks. I'll save that on my bookmark and try to do it when I can :)
     
  6. nikegame

    Newcomer nikegame Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I think buy a new one can solve your problem completely!Old one may have some other problems on your ps3!
     

Share This Page