Supercard DSTWO EOS 5.18 released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by shaunj66, May 18, 2010.

May 18, 2010
  1. shaunj66
    OP

    Administrator shaunj66 Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9,830
    Location:
    South England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG] Supercard DSTWO EOS 5.18 released
    Early birds, get your files here!
    [​IMG]
    Those of you lucky enough to get your Supercard DSTWO kits already will be happy to know that the Supercard team have today released the very first public version of the DSTWO EOS. Weighing in at a hefty 40MB, this kit will provide everything you need to get started with your DSTWO including GBA emulation.

    Before asking - please be aware that this version of the EOS is NOT compatible with the DSONE or DSONEi, and of course; no other flash kits either.

    There is no change-log as yet, but if we get it we'll update right here. Still missing however is any kind of movie codec support (DivX codecs etc.) and SNES emulation...

    [​IMG] Download (FileTrip)
    [​IMG] Discuss
     


  2. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    awesome,can't get to wait my card [​IMG]
     
  3. kaz_abdin

    Newcomer kaz_abdin Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    61
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sweet, cant wait to test it out, once I have got my card that is. Thanks
     
  4. DarkWay

    Member DarkWay tsubasa hiroge

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,552
    Location:
    Cornwall
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    already had it for a few hours [​IMG] shame I don't have my DSTWO yet [​IMG]
     
  5. WildWon

    Former Staff WildWon EXTERMINATE!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,814
    Location:
    8-Bit Heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Hotness! All you SC-DS2 users, check in and let us know what you think! I'm curious as hell about the new EOS [​IMG]
     
  6. Jakob95

    Suspended Jakob95 I am the Avatar

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    4,344
    Location:
    New York City
    Country:
    United States
    Can't use the firmware even since Nintendo still has my DSi.
     
  7. RupeeClock

    Member RupeeClock Colors 3D Snivy!

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,307
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing this is so big because it also includes the moonshell files, and the NDS-GBA emu files, on top of the DStwo firmware files.

    Quite a lot there!
     
  8. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    The gba emulator is just meh...
    tested
    doom2 and it lags very bad
    golden sun 1 and it lags during battle
    ---

    i like the RTS feature because is very fast
    it works like how we save/load a game save

    the speed of rom loading is around 2-8 seconds (depending on games)
    ---

    you can customise the hotkey to bring out the in-game menu which is thoughtful
    ---

    free cheat is just too simple [​IMG]
    i hope they will update it in the future updates
    otherwise, is a waste and useless for me
    ---

    i am not sure how mighty is the anti AP thing they claimed to have
    i was testing dementium2 on pre-official firmware and it didn't work
    however, they had fixed the game on the official firmware
    ---

    talking about the cheat menu (the menu we select cheats)
    it loads the menu pretty fast and seamless scrolling (yeah, even you have a few hundred codes)
    too bad, it doesn't display the entire cheat title and doesn't display any comments [​IMG]
    i think they will be addressing this in future

    cheat compatibility had improved [​IMG]
    tested some nasty codes and it works fine
    ---

    what do i think of the firmware for scds2?
    acekard clone (hahah i assume its based on the akrpg firmware )
    it doesn't matter much as long it gets the job done
    ---

    worth the $$$ or not? as long as they keep updating scds2 (example addressing some of the bugs/issues that i had reported to them) and bring us the features they promise us [​IMG]

    I WANT SNES emulation!!!!

    EDIT: i am happy with scds2 and again i have to thank gbatemp for this [​IMG]
     
  9. DjoeN

    Member DjoeN Captain Haddock!

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,927
    Location:
    Somewhere in this potatoland!
    Country:
    Belgium
    And don't forget the X360/PS3 Emu [​IMG]
    (Just kidding)

    Cards underway, downloaded the software, so let's see what it is when i get it [​IMG]
     
  10. Nollog

    Member Nollog GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    2,691
    Country:
    Ireland
    And my unrealistic hopes are dashed~!
     
  11. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    Hmmm I really want to get a SCDS2 now. [​IMG]

    Hey where did you order yours?
    Was it from Shoptemp?
     
  12. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    i forgot to mention that
    actually team SC had release the SDK privately to a rom team
    they will come out with a DQ9 (chinese) that fully utilise the extra hardware on scds2

    EDIT: they store the fonts into the sdram to avoid crashing

    ---
    where do they store the in game cheats that you find/added
    it is stored inside a .dtc file
    you can open the file with a notepad [​IMG]

    it also creates an independent .rtf file for real time saves [​IMG]


    by the way this is how it should looks after you open the .dtc file with a notepad
     
  13. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    how often do sc update their firmware
    for there cards? [​IMG]
     
  14. kirbypower

    Newcomer kirbypower Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Netherlands
    just downloaded. And my DSTWO order status changed into ''completed'' so i guess its shipped. [​IMG]
    I wonder how long it takes before I got it here in Holland.
    can't wait to put this in my DSI.
    its just a shame that it doesn't have the DivX codecs and snes emulation yet.
    I hope it will be released very soon,cause that's one of the reasons for buying this card.
     
  15. Pliskron

    Banned Pliskron Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,276
    Country:
    United States
    It seems like the Supercard team rushed this to market and is concentrating on too many things at the same time. I would have like to see them focus on doing fewer like forgetting about the SNES emulator until they get the GBA perfect. My biggest fear is that the GBA and the SNES emulators are always going to kind of suck. FLV will always lag like it does in the iPlayer. I just hope thats not the case.
     
  16. Spikey

    Member Spikey Your Special Someone

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,284
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome news! My SuperCards apparently arrived yesterday(the ones ordered from ShopTemp anyways), it's just too bad I'm not yet home from Cancun to use them. Little did I know that the SuperCards would come in on one of the only weeks I'm not in the country when they finally came out. [​IMG]

    Look forward to a review of this in a future Tempcast from me. Obviously no pictures or writeup, just pure audio, however feel free to be there live and ask any questions you want if there is something I don't cover. Can't wait until I'm home(which will be much later today) to try this cart out.
     
  17. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    Off-topic
    Nice icon [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    sigh
    I really want this flashcart [​IMG]
     
  18. Sanderino

    Member Sanderino I guess you only know what you got 'till it's gone

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    the Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So... Does the Mother 3 translation runs on the DS2?
     
  19. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmmm . I've not got my DSTwo yet - but downloaded the files anyway
    A quick look through the skins for DSTwo and I've noticed something a little perculiar

    Apart from a few name changes here-&-there, has anyone else noticed that the general layout of the skins graphics etc is very similar to Acekard/AKAIO skin layout - in fact the 'uisetting.ini' is virtually the same apart from a few extra settings
     
  20. elixirdream

    Member elixirdream GBAtemp Legend

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    6th Dimention
    Country:
    Malaysia
    as mentioned it is based on akrpg
    look at the folders

    __aio
    _dstwo

    when you boot the game
    it also has a LOADING screen
     

Share This Page