Super mario land glitches

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by BrightNeko, Jun 18, 2011.

Jun 18, 2011

Super mario land glitches by BrightNeko at 2:28 AM (1,596 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. BrightNeko
    OP

    Member BrightNeko Popcorn ball

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    OK so I caved and bought super mario land today and I've encountered 2 glitches.

    1. the top of the screen is kind of scrunched up and wavy like the effect you get from genesis emulation when every your moving down on the screen a wavy line appears. Not really a problem just kind of annoying.

    2. So I got the star power up in 2-2, around the time it ended the screen went blank and I couldn't see anything. I've had this happen twice both times getting me killed.

    The first one probably isn't in the original but number 2 might be. Anyway has anyone else encountered these problems? If its only me I might just re-download...

    -edit-
    To note I have alleyway and problem 1 isn't there. Doubt that matters but felt I should mention it.
     
  2. tlyee61

    Member tlyee61 le dancing Tyranitar~

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    1st does for me

    2nd I have never experienced [​IMG]
     
  3. chartube12

    Member chartube12 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,725
    Country:
    United States
    Number 2 is an old glitch witch used to happen when using game genie. Sometimes happened with super gameboy but rarely.

    I remember number 1 used to happen when playing the game cart in super gameboy.

    IMO: Sounds like nintendo created an emulator based on super gameboy.
     
  4. spinal_cord

    Member spinal_cord Knows his stuff

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    2,871
    Location:
    somewhere
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Super gameboy wasn't much more that a complete gameboy in a snes cart afaik.

    1. because the screen is scaled to an uneven amount, try holding start/select when loading the game. This will load the game at 1:1 screen size with a gb border.

    2. weird! [​IMG]
     
  5. BrightNeko
    OP

    Member BrightNeko Popcorn ball

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    911
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States
    Neat trick spinal_cord seems to have fixed the screen waving up :3 least for now.

    I ran through 2-2 again, and got the star in that mode and didn't get the blank screen so hopefully it also fixed that >.< but that seems pretty random so its something I will see over time from playing it over and over.
     
  6. ShinyJellicent12

    Member ShinyJellicent12 I summon giant clover-shaped meteors in the sky

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    709
    Location:
    The Moon
    Country:
    United States
    I have a GBA SP and I play SML on it (I have the actual game).
    If I do the color thing (press an arrow key and the game has a different color theme. It would be in color without pressing a button, anyway), it becomes harder for me to play.
    I can't get past level 4!
     
  7. zumbertinho

    Newcomer zumbertinho Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Sao Paulo, SP, Brazil
    Country:
    Brazil
    This is slightly off-topic, but still about SML: can anybody tell me if this version maintains the high-score? I mean, I'm guessing that with the menu button state save thing it will keep the record, but if I close the game completely will it still maintain my high-score? This is the only reason I can think that might make me buy this thing.. it doesn't even have borders, even Super Game Boy had borders and other functions. They could make a leader-board for those games... meh.. one can dream, can't I?
     
  8. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    As long as you keep your save state up to date, it will keep the score via that.
     
  9. Kaleadoskope

    Newcomer Kaleadoskope Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Australia
    I encountered the second glitch in Link's Awakening DX on 3DS. This happened when I was talking to the witch, I pressed a couple of random buttons in an effort to skip the text. The game froze on a white screen, I was still able to save my state, but the only way to escape the white screen was by restarting. I also encountered the first graphical glitch on Link's Awakening, but I haven't encountered any glitches in SML. It may be because Gameboy and Gameboy Colour games are emulated in the same way. Either way, a peculiar set of glitches, and ones I would like to see the cause of.
     

Share This Page