Hacking Strange issue PS4 web browser no longer works suddenly.

simbin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,081
Country
United States
I can no longer load any website or exploit for my PS4 web browser, or the Help menu option.

Keep getting "There is not enough free system memory." no matter what I do. Clear cookies, cache, nothing works.

It's on 5.05, but I'm not even sure I can upgrade to 6.72 since I blocked updates in the exploit. The last thing I remember doing was playing the SM64 port, if that could have anything to do with it. I'm pretty sure I rebooted and loaded HEN afterwards though.

Not sure what to do.. hope someone can help, thanks.

Edit: thanks again everyone for the help @godreborn @KiiWii @Leeful and others.

Solution: was to rebuild database, and reinstall 5.05 update (not recovery) from USB. I probably could've just reinstalled 5.05 update without having to mess with db_rebuilder script afterwards. For anyone experiencing this issue in the future, I recommend trying to reinstall the update first. You may not even need to rebuild your database, so it could save you some time.
 
Last edited by simbin,

spotanjo3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 6, 2002
Messages
10,891
Trophies
1
XP
5,163
Country
United States
I can no longer load any website or exploit for my PS4 web browser, or the Help menu option.

Keep getting "There is not enough free system memory." no matter what I do. Clear cookies, cache, nothing works.

It's on 5.05, but I'm not even sure I can upgrade to 6.72 since I blocked updates in the exploit. The last thing I remember doing was playing the SM64 port, if that could have anything to do with it. I'm pretty sure I rebooted and loaded HEN afterwards though.

Not sure what to do.. hope someone can help, thanks.

Since you clear cookies and cache.. Try to shut it down first and turn it on then restart PS4 and try again.
 
Last edited by spotanjo3,

simbin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,081
Country
United States
Since you clear cookies and cache.. Try to shut it down first and turn it on then restart PS4 and try again.
Yes, tried that multiple times actually. I'm a little concerned that manually copying the required files for SM64 did something, but maybe just coincidence.

yeah, try restarting the system. what were you using to deploy payloads? a frontend I gather?
Just always used a cached 5.05 Al Azif
 
Last edited by simbin,

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,636
Trophies
1
XP
12,749
Country
United States
never heard of that happening. you might see if rebuilding the database fixes it. I know that can also fix pfs errors on top of database errors, so there's more to it than just database issues. however, make sure you have a copy of your app.db, because all games will disappear from the home men u. the only other thing I can think of that should clear the internet is initializing the system, but this is basically a format of the hdd. that's a last resort.
 

simbin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,081
Country
United States
@KiiWii or @Leeful may have heard of this.
I'm rebuilding the database - found a python script to hopefully restore app.db afterwards. Fingers crossed.

Edit: Same "There is not enough free system memory." afterwards, and of course all installed game icons are missing.

Sinking feeling it has to do with the files I copied for SM64 port:
\data\self\system\common\lib\libScePigletv2VSH.sprx
\data\self\system\common\lib\libSceShaccVSH.sprx

Edit: Okay, good news I think.. reinstalled 5.05 update from recovery USB and web browser is running without memory error. If I can restore my app.db, should be in good shape. Fingers crossed.
 
Last edited by simbin,

Mythical

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
2,141
Trophies
1
Age
23
XP
2,872
Country
United States
Maybe I'm, wrong, but it seems like your drive could be the problem if some of the files for it are on their. Drives die or start doing stupid things as time goes on
 

Leeful

GBAtemp Member
Developer
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
1,597
Trophies
1
XP
4,534
Country
United Kingdom
@KiiWii or @Leeful may have heard of this.
I've had the browser become unresponsive a couple of times but holding down the circle button to close the webpage so that it goes to the 'frequently used pages' page and then clearing webdata and cookies and then shutting down the PS4 fixed that.

@simbin can you get to the 'frequently used pages' page in the browser and if so what happens if you type www.google.com in the address bar?
 

KiiWii

Editorial Team
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 17, 2008
Messages
12,771
Trophies
2
Website
defaultdnb.github.io
XP
15,039
Country
United Kingdom
Copying files to the hdd won’t wreck it.

I would delete cookies and data, reboot, reboot again, open the user guide and re-cache your host. Reboot again, then give your console a minute to load up and then run the cached host.

It’s anal, but it should rule out a load of things and start you off pure.
 
  • Like
Reactions: godreborn

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,636
Trophies
1
XP
12,749
Country
United States
I'm rebuilding the database - found a python script to hopefully restore app.db afterwards. Fingers crossed.

Edit: Same "There is not enough free system memory." afterwards, and of course all installed game icons are missing.

Sinking feeling it has to do with the files I copied for SM64 port:
\data\self\system\common\lib\libScePigletv2VSH.sprx
\data\self\system\common\lib\libSceShaccVSH.sprx

Edit: Okay, good news I think.. reinstalled 5.05 update from recovery USB and web browser is running without memory error. If I can restore my app.db, should be in good shape. Fingers crossed.

I once had a pfs error and rebuilding the database fixed it. Inserting the databases back fixed everything. The python script might work on 5.05.
 
  • Like
Reactions: KiiWii

Leeful

GBAtemp Member
Developer
Joined
Sep 4, 2015
Messages
1,597
Trophies
1
XP
4,534
Country
United Kingdom
Edit: Okay, good news I think.. reinstalled 5.05 update from recovery USB and web browser is running without memory error. If I can restore my app.db, should be in good shape. Fingers crossed.
@simbin did you use the update pup or recovery pup? because if you used option 7 in safe mode and reinstalled the system software all your games are gone and restoring the app.db will do nothing.
 

simbin

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2015
Messages
539
Trophies
0
Age
43
XP
1,081
Country
United States
Thanks everyone for the support. I was able to regain access to the browser after reinstalling the 5.05 update via USB. Unfortunately I'd already rebuilt my database, but should have skipped that step TBH. But it looks like I'm going to recover all my games, minus the order I had them arranged, plus any folders, homebrew, and possibly DLC. Could have been a lot worse I guess.

@simbin did you use the update pup or recovery pup? because if you used option 7 in safe mode and reinstalled the system software all your games are gone and restoring the app.db will do nothing.
update pup
 
Last edited by simbin,
  • Like
Reactions: Leeful

godreborn

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
20,636
Trophies
1
XP
12,749
Country
United States
Thanks everyone for the support. I was able to regain access to the browser after reinstalling the 5.05 update via USB. Unfortunately I'd already rebuilt my database, but should have skipped that step TBH. But it looks like I'm going to recover all my games, minus the order I had them arranged, plus any folders, homebrew, and possibly DLC. Could have been a lot worse I guess.
On the bright side, we now know what to do if that happens to anyone else. Does the python script not work?
 
  • Like
Reactions: Leeful
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Xzi @ Xzi: three cheers for the beerbot!