SSBB never worked, never will ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Jinkolite, Oct 6, 2008.

Oct 6, 2008
  1. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey people, i was just wondering has any one else had a wii that refuses to boot
    super smash bros brawl both retail and copies ?

    For some strange reason i have tryed multiple retail copies of super smash bros
    and none have worked, brand new or not. I even tryed to boot a retail copy through
    waninkoko's back up loader. it was a no go. i tried a copy too and it refused to work
    also, any one else had the same problem or know how to get around it?
     
  2. Flawsdraw

    Member Flawsdraw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    England, Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What modchip you using? my brothers wii is Wikey with 1.9g so he cant play either, mine is 1.9s and I Play the retail one fine
     
  3. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you have a wiikey? It needs to be updated to the latest version before it'll play SSBB original.

    Are you running 3.3? Are your copies trucha signed? This could be why they don't work. Have you tried Gecko OS?

    It is possible that you have one of the drives that doesn't play nicely with dual layer discs. If this is the case, you could buy a new laser assembly for it.
     
  4. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    lol no guys i dont have a chip, i only have tryed the back ups on the back up loaders and actual retail copies brought from the shop.
     
  5. Flawsdraw

    Member Flawsdraw GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2008
    Messages:
    286
    Location:
    England, Kent
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Then your laser has problems with Dual Layer, you will need a new laser to be able to play it. dont know if nintendo fix it or anything though.
     
  6. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
    i think you have one of the wiis with a bad adjusted laser. follow the following tutorial or sent your wii to nintendo. they will replace your drive or tweak your laser for free. it's a well know issue. sent just your wii in with a short description of your problem.

    tutorial: http://www.teamcyclops.com/forum/showpost....amp;postcount=3
     
  7. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thats pretty unfair on my behalf, i brought the wii expecially for that game. Hmmm just my luck.
    I shouldnt have to buy a new laser for a game that should work on my wii fine and dandy, any
    one had luck in asking nintendo to fix this problem for them ?
     
  8. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    If you haven't tampered with your wii (ie opened it) Nintendo will fix this for you.
     
  9. Screemer

    Member Screemer GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,248
    Country:
    Germany
  10. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for that Screemer, but another problem. I brought it second hand ad it looks pretty old ... will they charge me ?
     
  11. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doh ! i just noticed the 'even if your warrenty has exceeded part.' thanks.
     
  12. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My luck, the crackhead i brought it from removed the serial tab. KMT.
     
  13. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    get a triwing screwdriver and open your wii
    gently blow in all areas surrounding the lens area, if you have a disc lens cleaning kit, use it carefully

    most of the problems were just dirty lenses.
    if you really need a lens adjustment there are tutorials for it.
     
  14. d412k5t412

    Newcomer d412k5t412 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Nintendo will fix your Wii even if you have opened it. ;-). Opening the Wii does not void the warrenty
     
  15. Jinkolite
    OP

    Newcomer Jinkolite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    but nintendo want the serial code on the bottom of the wii, which i dont have ...
     

Share This Page