Splitting already installed files with multiMAN?

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by Elliander, Mar 27, 2013.

Mar 27, 2013
  1. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    A few games that I installed on the console's internal hard drive has files larger than 4 GB. It's typically just one file in a given installed game. Does multiMAN have an internal feature to select one such file and split it (and expect it to still work as if it wasn't split), or do I need to transfer the file to my computer?

    If I do have to use a program on my computer, will "Split4G" work (with setting filename.666##) work for this pieces of a larger PS3 game?

    I would prefer to be able to use an internal feature, because my USB drives are all FAT32 meaning I would have to use that slow FTP connection to get the files onto the PC to split.
     
  2. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    You can use multiMAN to copy a game from the hdd0 to usb0; it'll split it because the usb drive will be on FAT32.
     
  3. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    That's good to know. Maybe what I can do is just copy to a thumb drive the specific files I want split and then copy them back... or would multiMAN just join the split files internally?
     
  4. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    Yes it split and join big files automatically. Alternatively, wired connection is much faster than USB thru FTP and does not need splitting and tend to bug a lot less (or not bug at all). The new versions of filezilla and multiman like to work together it seems.
     
  5. mechadylan

    Member mechadylan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    776
    Country:
    United States
    Ooh, not sure about that one. File management on mM can be done from the mmOS (select+start) and I would assume that any file larger than 4GB would be split if transferred from the internal to usb storage, but I don't know how useful those split files would be. When you copy a complete game from the internal to the usb storage, the files are split in such a fashion that they can be be pieced back together into the hdd or possibly even played as a "split game."
     
  6. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    I double checked that, ripping a PS2 game on the computer and then splitting a .iso into .iso.666** files and then putting it onto the PS3 and it seems to read the file correctly and they are still split. Of course, until I can actually load PS2 games discless I won't know for sure.

    In any case at least my main concern is pretty much resolved. I was worried about the process of moving to a larger hard drive in the future which would require FAT32 for the system backup, but would want to backup with multiMAN after to the same drive. If it will automatically splits the files I guess I shouldn't worry about it too much.

    I'm going to wait until this drive comes down in price. A 1 TB solid state drive for less than $600! SSD has finally caught up with the maximum capacities of magnetic storage, and since it runs cooler it would be better for use inside a PS3. Even though my first generation console was hard modded to run cooler I don't want to tempt fate.

    Is there a guide to a direct connection via FTP? Without going through the router? My laptop has an Ethernet port and I have an Ethernet cable. The wireless FTP takes far too long, and when trying to transfer the console would shut itself off long before it could ever finish. Or rather it did: last night I found the setting in multiMAN to disable auto shut off. Apparently I had to disable it in multiMAN and in the main system settings.
     
  7. marcus134

    Member marcus134 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 7, 2011
    Messages:
    584
    Location:
    Qu├ębec
    Country:
    Canada
    you need a crossover Ethernet cable (not a straight one), then manually set the ip address for both the ps3 and your comp.

    edit: Auto-MDIX (software crossover) is common on gigabit network controllers so you can always try with a straight cable.
     
  8. Elliander
    OP

    Member Elliander GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    449
    Location:
    Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Ahh. OK. It's been a good 12 years since I took a computer networking class, but I should remember how to do that. lol.
     
  9. Magsor

    Member Magsor I am watching you

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2010
    Messages:
    959
    Location:
    Amos
    Country:
    Canada
    I would not bother with a direct connection, if your router does not support gigabit just add a network switch and 2 CAT6(kind of important) cables.
     

Share This Page