Some questions about 3DS and hacking.

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by predator100, Jun 30, 2012.

Jun 30, 2012
  1. predator100
    OP

Newcomer predator100 Newbie

Bulgaria
    Hello guys! It's my first post on this forum. I know I will look like an idiot, because I'm new to the whole new gen handheld stuff. So why em I on this forum? Well I want to buy a 3DS and hack it. Previously I've used emulators and all that on my PC, but I want to change that and play anywhere I go. I know that there is difference between a 3DS and a 3DS, so my question is - which update should I look for and which not to? I don't want to buy a 3DS that can't be hacked. And how does the whole cartridge thing work? I've never had any before. Had a GBC and GBA, but I've bought the original games for em. I would appreciate it if someone could explain all that to me. And again I want to say that I'm sorry if posting in the wrong forum, don't forget that I'm a complete noob when it comes to all that stuff. ^^

2. serenade.63

Member serenade.63 GBAtemp Fan

United States
    inb4 flame

also to answer your question, there is no "hack" for the 3ds, and there likely wont be one for a long time. however, you can use a ds flashcart on a 3ds, but only to play ds games, NOTHING WILL PLAY 3DS GAMES, but these flash carts are capable of running a lot of emulators, pretty much every retro emulator except psx (and i think there is actually one that can run a psx emulator), anyways, you should research ak2i, scdstwo, and r4i gold, the three best cards on the market right now.

3. PsyBlade

Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

Germany
    Note that these cards (asside from occasionally being blocked) perform exactly as on a DS.
    For running emus a PSP might be worth a look to afaik.

4. predator100
    OP

Bulgaria
    So maybe I can buy 3DS, avoid updating it and just play the DS games on it with the cartridge while waiting for an official hack?

5. pyromaniac123