Question Solder the Joy Con to enter RCM

Discussion in 'Switch - Exploits, Custom Firmwares & Soft Mods' started by JeepX87, Jul 1, 2018.

1. JeepX87
    OP

JeepX87 GBAtemp Regular

Aug 17, 2016
    United States
    I decided that I'm not going to install AutoRCM after noticed that some members have same issues, so I do feel that solder the Joy Con is better option, but not completely sure.

Could you tell me about how fragile is pins on Switch? I have jig with copper in it so how many jig used that lead to damage or worn out the pins? I used about around 30 times or slightly more.

I'm not good at solder to create a bridge between 9 and 10, so willing to pay someone to do it like I did with my 3DS.

If you recommended different methods to mod the Joy Con so please tell me, exception of tinfoil method (not worth to risking my Switch.

Thanks

2. kamesenin888

kamesenin888 GBAtemp Maniac

Oct 20, 2007
    Or using a jig?

3. JeepX87
    OP

JeepX87 GBAtemp Regular

Aug 17, 2016
    United States
    I do have jig so does worn the pin out?

4. kamesenin888

kamesenin888 GBAtemp Maniac

Oct 20, 2007
    Well depends on the quality of the jig, mmmm i think soldering in the joycon isn't any better

JeepX87 likes this.
  5. Xandrid

Xandrid GBAtemp Advanced Fan

GBAtemp Patron
    Xandrid is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

Our Patreon
    Mar 27, 2016
    Nigeria
    I mean I could solder your joycon for you, but I'm not sure if there's any price that worth paying for something simple as this

JeepX87 likes this.
  6. JeepX87
    OP

JeepX87 GBAtemp Regular

Aug 17, 2016
    United States
    I use jig that I bought from one of GBAtemp member here.

[​IMG]

7. JACMAN

JACMAN Member

Newcomer
    May 30, 2018
    United States
    I soldered and let me tell you its amazing and hassle free. Slide joycon in and go into Rcm

JeepX87 and Xandrid like this.
  8. Puppydogpals

Puppydogpals Advanced Member

Newcomer
    Feb 19, 2018
    United Kingdom