Softmodding a Modchipped system.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by shadowmanr6, Jan 28, 2009.

Jan 28, 2009
  1. shadowmanr6
    OP

    Newcomer shadowmanr6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    Unfortunatly one of my buddies systems has a chip inside and must be a clone cause of multiple unsuccessful attempts to update for newer games, so my question is whether it is safe to do the gamma backup launcher install on a system witha mod chip inside, thanks. (Too lazy to open it up and take the chip out)
     
  2. jos7960

    Member jos7960 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    177
    Country:
    Netherlands
    It is. I softmodded my system which has a chip to test it for a friend.
     
  3. HaniKazmi

    Member HaniKazmi GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Location:
    Manchester
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    depends on the modchip, id guess. Installing gamma wont harm anything so try it and see.
     
  4. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Did they at least try booting the games with GeckoOS first?

    ...and if it's Animal Crossing or the games with the #002 error. All they need to do is install IOS38, 53, and 55
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    About which games do you speak? If it's the 002 error games, use a 002 fix loader with a normal IOS instead of a backup cIOS, like Gecko OS with 002 fix or SoftChip set to IOS36.

    Well i don't know if that's completly correct. If a game requires a IOS you don't have, you can either run the disc update, or install the IOS manually. But if a unupdated modchip passes the 002 protection, when launching the game from the disc channel i'm not 100% sure, might not be that easy.
     
  6. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    That's true. But most of the games that have 002 currently are NTSC-J games, so he wouldn't want to apply the update.

    There aren't many people out there with chips that don't have at least #001 fix.
     
  7. shadowmanr6
    OP

    Newcomer shadowmanr6 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    United States
    it sounds like whatever the issue was when super mario galaxy came out, not sure what that was considered
     

Share This Page