Softmod on 4.0 LU64+

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by chunan, May 29, 2009.

May 29, 2009

Softmod on 4.0 LU64+ by chunan at 4:33 PM (12,644 Views / 0 Likes) 68 replies

  1. chunan
    OP

    Newcomer chunan Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Taiwan
    I just installed cIOS rev11 beta with cBoot2 on my LU64+.
    The below are the steps.

    0. prepare required files for cBoot2
    1. load hackmii installer beta2 through bannerbomb
    2. install homebrew channel 1.03
    3. install BootMii as IOS254
    4. load cBoot2Installer through hbc
    5. restart Wii
    6. load hbc and press 'Home' button
    7. select "Launch BootMii"
    8. Wad Manager 1.4 is loaded
    9. install cIOS rev11 beta
     


  2. dun4cheap

    Member dun4cheap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    It should be working or it is?

    Were you able to get ios35 installed with trucca?
     
  3. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    With cboot2 you don't need to downgrade IOS35 since you can install cIOS directly.
     
  4. mtb-bfh

    Newcomer mtb-bfh Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    United States
    Awesome. I was hoping this would work, but haven't had a chance to try it myself yet. Getting cBoot2 running looked a little too involved for the total novice, but it shouldn't be a huge leap to package it up a little nicer and finally present a fix for all the people that have been stuck.

    Hopefully this will also give an entering wedge to figure out exactly what can/can't be done with these systems instead of just giving the knee-jerkish "Don't install anything! Don't change anything! Don't downgrade anything!" disclaimer that goes along with the LU64Fix package.
     
  5. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The coolest thing about it is that it means that as long as BootMii can be installed, a wii can be fully softmodded. Also, people don't have to deal with the "XFD UR A PIRATE" downgrade thing anymore either.
     
  6. flavors

    Newcomer flavors Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Canada
    one question , in cboot2 zip i got in root folder the boot , startup + in the app folder i have another boot , wich one i need to use in hbc ?
     
  7. chunan
    OP

    Newcomer chunan Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Taiwan
    in cboot2.zip, boot.dol in app folder is cBoot2Installer while the one in root is wad manager

    you don't need to change anything, just unzip it to SD root and copy the required files to 00000001 folder
     
  8. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
  9. chunan
    OP

    Newcomer chunan Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Taiwan
    compiled version of cboot2 on different machines would be the same? is it portable?
     
  10. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    cboot doesn't modify your boot2, it only adds to the armboot which is on the sd card pretty sure of this, cause i have a few wiis which i have never installed cboot to, with just these files on the sd card and bootmii install has a IOS, i'm able to load cboot through the HBC, without ever running the cboot installer

    So yea should work for everyone,
     
  11. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, it ought to work for anyone. I think the reason it was released as an installer and not compiled like this is because it contains Ninty code.
     
  12. WiiBlaster

    Member WiiBlaster GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,189
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm yea thats true it does, but the code really can't be extracted, Think i should remove the link
     
  13. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    Frankly I don't care especially since it can't be extracted, but someone might.
     
  14. flavors

    Newcomer flavors Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Canada
    Working for me , thx WiiBlaster . It load wad manager when booting bootmii . but know i dont know what to do lol ....
     
  15. chunan
    OP

    Newcomer chunan Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    Taiwan
    put cIOS rev11 beta (for LU64+) or cIOS rev9 in wad folder and then install it

    or you can wait until the release of cIOS rev12, should be this weekend
     
  16. flavors

    Newcomer flavors Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Canada

    Ok im a noob.. why all cIOS i find are like .dol ? no wad ? can you explain please ? i feel realy dump ...
     
  17. dun4cheap

    Member dun4cheap GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    181
    Country:
    United States
    I will have to give this a go with my Lu65 machine that I have been experimenting with.
     
  18. piratesmack

    Member piratesmack GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2009
    Messages:
    787
    Location:
    $(pwd)
    Country:
    United States

    I think a CIOS Rev 11 wad is included in SoftMii's lu64 fix pack:
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=152406

    Unrar that pack and grab LU64.wad (They renamed it shhhhhhhhhhhhh)
     
  19. flavors

    Newcomer flavors Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Canada
    Bah it give me the same error as when i try to install whit HBC/wap manager....
     
  20. FenrirWolf

    Member FenrirWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    4,343
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR
    Country:
    United States
    That's weird.
     

Share This Page