Hacking Softmod on 4.0 LU64+

chunan

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Taiwan
I just installed cIOS rev11 beta with cBoot2 on my LU64+.
The below are the steps.

0. prepare required files for cBoot2
1. load hackmii installer beta2 through bannerbomb
2. install homebrew channel 1.03
3. install BootMii as IOS254
4. load cBoot2Installer through hbc
5. restart Wii
6. load hbc and press 'Home' button
7. select "Launch BootMii"
8. Wad Manager 1.4 is loaded
9. install cIOS rev11 beta

mtb-bfh

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Awesome. I was hoping this would work, but haven't had a chance to try it myself yet. Getting cBoot2 running looked a little too involved for the total novice, but it shouldn't be a huge leap to package it up a little nicer and finally present a fix for all the people that have been stuck.

Hopefully this will also give an entering wedge to figure out exactly what can/can't be done with these systems instead of just giving the knee-jerkish "Don't install anything! Don't change anything! Don't downgrade anything!" disclaimer that goes along with the LU64Fix package.

FenrirWolf

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
The coolest thing about it is that it means that as long as BootMii can be installed, a wii can be fully softmodded. Also, people don't have to deal with the "XFD UR A PIRATE" downgrade thing anymore either.

flavors

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Canada
one question , in cboot2 zip i got in root folder the boot , startup + in the app folder i have another boot , wich one i need to use in hbc ?

chunan

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Taiwan
flavors said:
one question , in cboot2 zip i got in root folder the boot , startup + in the app folder i have another boot , wich one i need to use in hbc ?

in cboot2.zip, boot.dol in app folder is cBoot2Installer while the one in root is wad manager

you don't need to change anything, just unzip it to SD root and copy the required files to 00000001 folder

chunan

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country