Softmod for PS3 yet?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by miketh2005, Dec 22, 2009.

Dec 22, 2009

Softmod for PS3 yet? by miketh2005 at 12:47 AM (4,230 Views / 0 Likes) 30 replies

  1. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, I was trying to google it, but all I got was old 2008 topics. Is there a softmod out, yet? Or, what is the easiest hard mod?
     


  2. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Common sense obviously isn't your strongpoint.

    Do you think that if there was nothing on fucking Google involving PS3 softmodding since goddamn 2008 that it would just miraculously have happened without anyone posting anything about it in a year?

    I would say "Go use Google", but I guess some people can't extract the simplest of answers when they're in your face screaming at you.

    Oh yeah...

    [​IMG]
     
  3. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    So is there a softmod or not? [​IMG]
     
  4. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    No, the PS3 is extremely complicated and hasn't been touched. Anyways, you can run ubuntu on it, so there's no reason to try.
     
  5. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Guild McCommunist

    Member Guild McCommunist (not on boat)

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,151
    Location:
    The Danger Zone
    Country:
    United States
    Dot. Dot. Dot.

    No.
     
  7. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    lol, it was just a joke xD

    what does ubuntu have to do with playing ps3 .isos?

    All I really want is to play ps1, ps2, and ps3 backups.

    Is there a ps2 emulator for xbox360 or wii?

    Wow, Sony really beat the pirates for once! wowie! I bet all the next generation consoles will try and do what sony did.
     
  8. asdf

    Member asdf GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Messages:
    827
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    Country:
    United States
    I can't be assed to get a facepalm picture for this.
     
  9. DrOctapu

    Member DrOctapu Magnificent Bastard

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,207
    Location:
    Hell.
    Country:
    United States
    Seriously, homebrew, not ISOs. And, no, there will NEVER be a PS2 emulator for any of the current gen consoles besides ps3.
     
  10. anaxs

    Member anaxs got milk, got candy

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Location:
    your moms jeans pocket
    Country:
    Canada
    you wish...
     
  11. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks alot.
     
  12. pitoui

    Member pitoui GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2006
    Messages:
    538
    Country:
    Australia
    This is funny.

    If you have even tried to have a quick look through the forums it would have shown you that I made the exact same thread (title and all) late last year.

    Have a quick look next time... yeah?
     
  13. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    If they were able to run Homebrew on a 360, its hardware is more than capable of emulating a PS2. The Wii no chance though.
     
  14. djricekcn

    Member djricekcn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    792
    Country:
    United States
    they can run homebrew on Xbox360
     
  15. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Yeah.. on an OLD as firmware Pre-NXE. Plus, there's not even a lot of Homebrew for the 360.
     
  16. Nikj14

    Member Nikj14 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Canada
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fcT739P3W0s

    Latest dash, running homebrew.
     
  17. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks for that. I'll look in to it some more.
     
  18. wyndcrosser

    Member wyndcrosser GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    720
    Country:
    United States
    This guy has to be joking... jesus.
     
  19. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    just cause the 360 hardware exceeds the ps2 hardware doesnt mean its able to emulate it, and the ps3 cant emulate ps2 either
     
  20. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    You're wrong. Just because they haven't implemented it yet [A PS2 Emulator], its certainly possible. The current-gen consoles are much better than most PCs that are capable of emulating PS2 games.
     

Share This Page