Softmii to bootmii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by neal73, Jun 23, 2009.

Jun 23, 2009

Softmii to bootmii by neal73 at 10:44 AM (1,041 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. neal73
    OP

    Newcomer neal73 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I have a 3.2e PAL wii which at the moment has the softmii hack installed. What benefits would I get changing to bootmii, and is it easy to do?
     
  2. Apekop

    Member Apekop GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    Location, location, location.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    bootmii is something you would install in addition to what you have. If you can install it as boot2 it will give you the best brick protection possible so go for it.
     
  3. carbonyle

    Member carbonyle GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Switzerland
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Can you just give a common point between Softshit and Bootmii?
    cause the first one is a "compilation" of hacks with a "guide" and the second one is a brick protection and a hack platform...
     
  4. Golfman560

    Member Golfman560 TheRapist.com

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1,099
    Location:
    Living with seals
    Country:
    Antarctica
    If you have Softmii (CIOSCorp) you'll have to unistall CIOSCorp first since Bootmii has some issues with it.
     
  5. vergilite

    Member vergilite GBATemps Regular Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    737
    Location:
    Liv-Liv-Liverpool YEAH!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    softmii ,never heard of it you must mean SOFTSHIT why would you install that
    bootmii is not even related to it
    softmii=a compilation of hacks (most of which are outdated*CIOScorp* cough)
    bootmii=a brick prevention method if you can install it to boot2 then if you brick your wii and the system menu gets either damaged or completely wiped off, it doesn't effect the boot2 where bootmii is installed so you can run bootmii to restore your nand or go to the homebrew channel and reinstall the system menu
    [​IMG] BOOTMII
     
  6. OSW

    Former Staff OSW Wii King

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4,796
    Country:
    Australia
    Well AFAIK you'd only need to overwrite (be careful abt deleting IOS) whatever IOS(s?) that the hackmii installer uses to install with the original ones, not completely remove cioscorp.
     
  7. TyrianCubed

    Member TyrianCubed Gamer 1989 to present

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    1,138
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    if you can install bootmii as boot2 you'll have the ultimate brick protection (nand backup/recovery tool FTW) and it's the only program that can be installed in boot2, allowing it to run before the sysmenu or anything else.
     
  8. neal73
    OP

    Newcomer neal73 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So the best advice is to just go to HBC and run the bootii installer from there? Will that take care of getting rid of the softmii stuff that isn't needed?
     
  9. wrettcaughn

    Member wrettcaughn Misunderstood Moral Elitist

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,785
    Country:
    United States
    it will not get rid of softmii. it will fail to install if cIOSCORP is on your system. update your IOS's before attempting to install BootMii.
     

Share This Page