So there's a new firmware update...

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by DarkMario616, Jan 27, 2011.

Jan 27, 2011
  1. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not updating yet because I want to some time in the future jailbreak my PS3 >_> but I want to play MK2 online lol.
     


  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I see it on a bunch of news sites now v3.56

    a minor update to patch security

    it hasnt been confirmed what it patches so dont update
     
  3. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Yah just looked it up.

    So what happens when you jailbreak and a new update comes out...no PSN? Or you bypass it?
     
  4. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Sucks that I restarted my PS3, cant play online now :'(

    EDIT: wasn't there an old DNS trick that allowed playing online with the old 3.41 firmware? Wouldn't that work on this situation too?
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    PSN access is blocked on 3.55
    there is a DNS hack however expect it to be patched within a day (like always) so dont even bother unless your really desperate to get online

    somebody said they tried booting the FTP app and it doesnt start up and gives an error now
     
  6. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    You think 3.56 will be hacked? I want to play online but eh.
     
  7. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Guess its time to wait again u.u


    And who is this "somebody" btw?
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the peeps at psxscene

    more users are commenting that no homebrew is working now

    also the DNS bypass (USA only I think) is 67.202.81.137
     
  9. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Oh I see...one sec trying

    Sweet it works.
     
  10. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    You go to Network Settings, then internet connection settings, then custom, and then scroll right until you come to the DNS settings. Then you put in the numbers above

    EDIT: I can confirm the DNS bypass thing is working right now, I'm on kmeaws CFW
     
  11. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    KaKaRoTo has confirmed the new update comes with a .self with a new key inside of it
     
  12. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    I was having a good ol time to in LBP2 when suddenly I was signed out and was ask to update.
     
  13. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Woah what? I thought that wasn't possible, since all the old games had just the old key
     
  14. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,187
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
     
  15. Nathan Drake

    Member Nathan Drake Obligations fulfilled, now I depart.

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    6,192
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I wasn't even aware that there was a new firmware update. Maybe it just hit an hour or two ago though since my PS3 has been on since about 3pm PST. Will end up getting the update anyways since this PS3 is never going to see the wonders of CFW.
     
  16. synce

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    Time to start taking bets on how long it'll take for decryption [​IMG]
     
  17. GameWinner

    Member GameWinner Take your heart

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    4,190
    Country:
    United States
    An error has occurred for me at 30%, it's not like I hacked my PS3 DX
     
  18. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, their servers are getting hammered right now, try to update a bit later
     
  19. DarkMario616
    OP

    Member DarkMario616 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    My friend's got 3.55 CFW and he's online.

    Lolwut?
     
  20. MarioBrotha

    Member MarioBrotha GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2007
    Messages:
    219
    Location:
    over there
    Country:
    United States
    Problably using the DNS hack, or hasnt restarted his PS3 yet
     

Share This Page